News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Outdated SMF & Bots

Started by wvanfleet, April 11, 2011, 12:58:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wvanfleet

I have SMF 1.0.12.  Every day bots sign up, despite all precautions.  When I try to upgrade, it tells me don't do it.  There is some error, apparently with regard to a smileyface upgrade (and for all I know something else also).  My forum has been rendered useless.

I am assuming that top priority is to upgrade.  But I don't know how.  I have zero technical knowledge.  I don't know how to do much of anything.

wvanfleet

I made a mistake.

SMF File                     Your Version
SMF Package          SMF     1.1.11
Sources                            1.1.11
Default Templates             1.1
Language Files                  1.1

Kays

Hi. 1.1.11 isn't that out of date. :)

How are you trying to do the upgrade? Are you using the link in the Admin CP or Package manager?

If at first you don't succeed, use a bigger hammer. If that fails, read the manual.
My Mods

wvanfleet

wvanfleet

When I try to install, I get:

Error in Package Installation
At least one error was encountered during a test installation of this package. It is strongly recommended that you do not continue with installation unless you know what you are doing, and have made a backup very recently. This error may be caused by a conflict between the package you're trying to install and another package you have already installed, an error in the package, a package which requires another package that you don't have installed yet, or a package designed for another version of SMF.

NanoSector

My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Blog
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

wvanfleet

See, I have no idea what that means.  I said that I don't know anything.  An edit of what?  How?

wvanfleet