Advertisement:

Author Topic: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?  (Read 79211 times)

Offline Aravot

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,057
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #20 on: January 14, 2012, 04:23:14 PM »
Joomla 1.7 reaches end of life and is no longer supported on 24 February 2012 so no point supporting it.

Offline Pek1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #21 on: January 14, 2012, 11:17:11 PM »
Joomla 1.7 reaches end of life and is no longer supported on 24 February 2012 so no point supporting it.
How do you mean it's ending its life ? New version coming ? I would really like to see any Joomla bridging with SMF 2.0.2 ..

Offline Aravot

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,057
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2012, 12:27:29 PM »

Offline Pek1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #23 on: January 15, 2012, 12:35:47 PM »
Read the Joomla news section hxxp:www.joomla.org/announcements/general-news/5400-joomla-25-beta2-released.html [nonactive]
Oh nice, thank you. But the next version of Joomla is going to be released in September 2012 ? Anyway, if there are any news about bridging SMF and Joomla, please inform me with PM or in topic  :).

Offline Aravot

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,057
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2012, 01:21:38 PM »
Please read the article thoroughly, before posting...

Offline kainby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2012, 05:06:24 AM »
There is the following bridge too, I used it on Joomla 1.5.25 and SMF 2.0.2 site without any major issues (it has few issues but I managed few workarounds).

ht__://code.google.com/p/sjsb/

If anyone interest porting the bridge to Joomla 2.5 I will sponsor few hours of coding.

I really need a bridge between the smf 2.0.2 and Joomla 2.5.1. to help yet nothing I can, just like to thank the big human thanks

PS use the Google translator is sorry for the bad language

Online Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,618
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • Whats Ur Beef
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #26 on: February 18, 2012, 08:14:27 PM »
Anyone got any news on a possible bridge ???

Offline GravuTrad

  • Senior Translator
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,610
  • Gender: Male
  • One of the french SMF translators
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 11:52:24 AM by GravuTrad »
On a toujours besoin d'un plus petit que soi! (Petit!Petit!)


Think about Search function before posting.
Pensez à la fonction Recherche avant de poster.

Online Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,618
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • Whats Ur Beef
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #28 on: February 19, 2012, 12:27:39 PM »
Thanks for the links. I'll check em out. :)

Offline Peter_AUS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #29 on: September 06, 2012, 05:07:57 AM »
jFusion does work with SMF, I just set it up today, have used it with Joomla, vBulletin and Gallery2 for past couple of years, and converted a test vBulletin conversion to SMF today and had no problems getting jFusion to work. You just have to follow the wizard for configuration and read the documentation for each plugin.
Regards,

Peter

Offline waris

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 220
  • Gender: Male
    • Wau Landing Portal
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #30 on: November 28, 2012, 12:28:53 PM »
I was  reading some Joomla doc whic says you can bridge Joomla sites withSMF sites using
jfusion and jfusion connect!

Can somebody comment on this?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 57,085
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #31 on: November 28, 2012, 12:32:46 PM »
as far as I know, jfusion WILL connect smf to joomla.

also, as far as I know, this is only a partial bridge. It doesn't fully integrate the two. (although I could be wrong with that, I no longer use Joomla)
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline ahrasis

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 4,921
  • Gender: Male
  • Busy mode is on.
    • ahrasis on GitHub
    • ahrasis on LinkedIn
    • ElkArte Malaysia
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #32 on: November 28, 2012, 09:42:34 PM »
waris, a post just before your post have confirmed that. Though it can do most of the thing but as Kindred mentioned it is only a partial bridge.

Offline verbos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #33 on: February 04, 2013, 04:06:01 PM »
Does anyone have a solution for joomla 3.x ?

A partial bridge would be nice already!

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 57,085
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #34 on: February 04, 2013, 04:26:48 PM »
nope...
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Online Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,618
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • Whats Ur Beef
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #35 on: February 07, 2013, 07:14:33 PM »
jfusion bridge works...I just installed it. If someone wants to try it go to this site and register and see if it works for me. All looks good in the admin panel and I think all settings are right.

EDIT:
Nope not working yet, lol. I changed something and broke it...but it was working.

EDIT:
Holy crap, don't use xcache with joomla. Also somewhere in the process of installing joomla I can't get on their site now for some reason.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2013, 08:54:00 PM by Bigguy »

Online Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,618
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • Whats Ur Beef
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #36 on: February 07, 2013, 08:56:15 PM »
Ok, I got the bridge working, found a fix for xcache and NOW all seems to be fine, lol. I'll post a link when I get a bit further, or get the link from my sig and try it now, lol. Anywho. I do believe there is a brdge for SMF and joomla. Lots of options to that I can see.

EDIT: Works with 2.1

Things that work:
who's online
topics display on Joomla from SMF
user Pm on Joomla
login to both from joomla

Something still need to be configured a bit but most is up and running.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2013, 06:56:33 PM by Bigguy »

Online Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,618
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • Whats Ur Beef
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #37 on: February 08, 2013, 07:10:29 PM »
So I have tested everything I think with the jfusion bridge from Joomla to SMF 2.1. things that do work:

Login and out and register in Joomla also does for SMF
recent topics on front page works great.
removed the login/out from SMF as it is not needed.
Who's online works

I think that is it. If I have left anything out then I will post later about it. This site is a test site really for the SMF to Joomla bridge by Jfusion. Check it out if you like. I would like to say now that I do believe there is a working bridge between Joomla and SMF.

http://www.bigguysweb.info

Offline sangham.net

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
  • Gender: Male
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #38 on: May 10, 2013, 04:54:48 AM »
Thanks for your effort, share and you invitation Bigguy!


Online Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,618
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • Whats Ur Beef
Re: SMF 2.0 and Joomla bridge?
« Reply #39 on: May 14, 2013, 10:23:10 PM »
Your more than welcome.