News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

A Few Newbie Questions

Started by TheWraith, September 06, 2011, 11:33:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheWraith

I just have a few questions that I need to know the answers to before I even proceed to download SMF and such....

1)  I have no real coding experience to speak of.  I've done some simple barckground stuff for Myspace and for some pics and videos, but that's it.  I have used an SMF board as a forum member, but never actually tried to run my own.  Am I getting in over my head or is it really a rather simple process?

2)  What is the average cost of hosting a SMF forum?

3)  Are there any hidden pitfalls that I am not seeing?  It all seems pretty simple, which makes me think that it is all too simple and I have a tendency to overthink things sometimes.

Thanks for your answers, I appreciate any and all help that I can get on my potential endeavors.   :)

Oldiesmann

1. It's really not that difficult, though it does partly depend on how much customization you plan on doing. Most new features can be added by uploading a zip or tar.gz archive through the admin center (see Package Manager for more details).

2. It varies widely depending on the size and activity level of the forum. For a new installation, you can usually get a good hosting plan for $8-$10 a month, sometimes less depending on the plan and the company.

3. No, not really. It really is pretty easy, and you'll learn a lot more as you get used to the system.
Michael Eshom
Christian Metal Fans

TheWraith

Sounds good so far. How about working on it? Is that something I have to be online for or can it be done offline as well?

kat

Tell ya what...

Have a read.

http://wiki.simplemachines.org

It might give you a feel for things. :)

Account Abandoned

And if you ever need help, you can get the best help you will ever get on this community and questions are answered really fast, I should add :)

kat

Xarcell