Advertisement:

Author Topic: move post to a different topic  (Read 1041 times)

Offline test1.0

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
move post to a different topic
« on: March 22, 2012, 02:16:43 PM »
this has probs been asked time again but can i move a single post to a different topic if someone posts in the wrong existing post?

instead of deleting it and asking them to post it again but in the right section :-\

thanks

lloyd

Offline Chalky

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,380
  • Gender: Female
  • If in doubt, give me beer...
    • ChalkCat
Re: move post to a different topic
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 02:29:25 PM »
I think you would have to "Split topic", selecting the post you want to move, then once split, use "Merge topic" to put the post where you want it.

That's how I've been doing it anyway :)

Offline test1.0

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: move post to a different topic
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 02:46:30 PM »
 8) cool thanks for the reply

Lloyd

Offline Chalky

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,380
  • Gender: Female
  • If in doubt, give me beer...
    • ChalkCat
Re: move post to a different topic
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2012, 03:28:51 PM »
No probs :)

TheListener

  • Guest
Re: move post to a different topic
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2012, 03:46:25 PM »
You both may be interested in this mod which saves a lot of hassle.

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1189

Use the mod emulation link in my sig.

Offline Chalky

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,380
  • Gender: Female
  • If in doubt, give me beer...
    • ChalkCat
Re: move post to a different topic
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2012, 04:16:37 PM »
Thanks Fossil, I've just installed that on your advice, but the board select dropdown only appears when posting a new topic, not when modifying an existing post.  Am I missing something?

Offline Kermit

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,365
  • Gender: Male
Re: move post to a different topic
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2012, 07:03:58 AM »
Thanks Fossil, I've just installed that on your advice, but the board select dropdown only appears when posting a new topic, not when modifying an existing post.  Am I missing something?

No you don't,it will not work on replies,only on topic creation,as it selects the board not the topic
My Mods
Please don't PM/mail me for support,unless i invite you
Formerly known as Duncan85
Quote
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."

A. Einstein