News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Manual Import problem : web Wiz to smf

Started by arya, August 01, 2006, 11:21:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

arya

SMF Version: SMF 1.1 RC2
I was trying to make a convertor for Web Wiz forums to SMF. I'm new to php so wasnt really able to hack the code and suit it to my needs....so i started taking sql dumps of each table and inserting it into newly setup smf database. Everything has been fine.

i was able to import
users
categories
boards
topics

They are all threaded alright and linked properly.

private messages are not all that important to me or board members...so they can be dropped

problem i"m facing is that the topics do not display page links to second or further pages of post. all i can see is a single page of posts displaying first 10 posts in that topic. Till now i've updated only one "log" table  "smf_log_topics". I dont know what I am missing here, Please let me know if you need more details. sorry for any mistakes, my keyboard is acting funny

thanks

arya

nevermind! i rewrote the sql query to fetch numReplies for smf_topics, which wasnt present earlier. its all fine now

H

arya could you please post the converter so it can be used by others :)

If only this had been around when I converted in August :P
-H
Former Support Team Lead
                              I recommend:
Namecheap (domains)
Fastmail (e-mail)
Linode (VPS)

arya

I will for sure. first i have to finish testing it. however i'll need help from some people who can tweak the convertor.

btw good to see you huvnet. now i know why you were missing from soop and ww forums. would you mind telling me how did you manage to move the boards? any tip will help.

thanks

H

btw good to see you huvnet. now i know why you were missing from soop and ww forums. would you mind telling me how did you manage to move the boards? any tip will help.