News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

messed transfering to new hosting up :(

Started by thearmykid, December 22, 2012, 03:19:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thearmykid

ok so what i did i transfered every file from my file manager to my new file manager and i get this error on the main page once i put all files on new hosting

Connection Problems

Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

I tried following the transferal manual but its not newbie enough for me to understand so i thought this would work but my new hosting shows up that error and i cant find any videos on youtube for transfering websites or nothing and i cant understand the transferal manual too tricky if anyone can explain noob style i would apreciate it thankyou in advance

thearmykid

Ok so im a newbie when it comes to moving forum to a different host :(.

What it is i used the ftp client to save all my files to my computer so i goes to my new host and i upload all the forum files to the new host and every file uploaded ok

but now when i go to the new host were i tried transfering and it says this "Connection Problems

Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later."

Im a newbie when it comes to moving a forum and i dont understand the instructions on the smf help link to moving forums any help would be very apreciated ive been stuck for hours now :( any help i would greatly apreciate it thanx guys in advance

mashby

Did you move your database too?
Merged your topics, too. :)
Always be a little kinder than necessary.
- James M. Barrie

thearmykid

alls i did was save every file from file manager and then upload every file to the new host :-/ i am not clever when it comes to moving cause ive never done it before

xrunner

Quote from: (¯`·._.·[K®Ï§ þ®Ø HÅ©K§]·._.·´¯) on December 22, 2012, 07:42:07 PM