News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

[HELP] Wap/Mobile Site as a new Subdomain

Started by schneizel57, December 31, 2012, 11:58:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

schneizel57

Hello. :)
Here's the situation:
My main website can be access at www.mysite.com
My SMF forum can be access at this subdomain www.forum.mysite.com
And What I want is, I like to access the wap/mobile site of my SMF forum directly at this new subdomain www.m.forum.mysite.com, whenever a user is detected using mobile device....

Is this even possible? If yes, how to do it?

Thanks! :D

Arantor

Possible but an awful lot of work because it's just not how SMF is designed to work (crossing subdomains like that), as it would require rewriting the way links are rewritten to include ;wap etc. which is not a small task.

schneizel57

Aw.... I'm not a good coder so this is just a dream now.
Ahm, ok. How can I configure my smf forum's default wap/mobile site? Is there any specific files that I need to edit?

Hj Ahmad Rasyid Hj Ismail

Can't you simply redirect your subdomain to http://yourforum/index.php?wap2 ?

For a mod to detect mobile device do search the mod site.

schneizel57

My forum's wap/mobile site is working. The thing is I want to customize the way it looks because it's almost just plain white. What files do I need to edit?

Jade Elizabeth

Man it would be so awesome if you didn't have to redirect!
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Jade Elizabeth

Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Antechinus

Just told ya. :D

Quote from: MSNAntechinus teh Awesomesauce says (6:10 PM)
Hey
saw your post
I rewrote the 1.1.x browser detection thingy to give an "is_touchscreen" context
then included a mobile mode in a responsive theme
much better than redirection to a mobile site (IMHO)