News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Search results limited to one page on 2.0.3

Started by Tomcraft, January 07, 2013, 07:01:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tomcraft

Hi there,

the pagination on search page in my forum stopped working. It worked before without having changed anything except the latest update from 2.0.2 to 2.0.3 but I'm not sure when exactly it stopped working.

I found these two topics:I haven't activated a search-index yet. Maybe there are to many topics on my forum for the search-pagination to work properly?

Installing "SMF Search Enhancement Mod" fixes the search-pagination without the need to activate the search-index, but I'm not sure if I'm willing to have this mod installed. I guess the search-pagination should work without the need of any external mods.

I started playing around with the search-index in a testing environment, but since I have loads of topics and posts on my forums, the indexing lasts hours... :-\

Any help is appreciated

Regards, Torsten

Arantor

Define 'stopped working'. Do you not get pagination? Do you get multiple pages that don't work? Do you get a hard limit on the number of results back?

Tomcraft

Ah sorry. The pagination in other forum sections works fine! Only the pagination using the search doesn't work like it should.

I have set the limit for the search results to 1200 and 30 results per page.

Regards, Torsten

Arantor

That wasn't what I asked. You've said twice that it 'doesn't work like it should' and yet you've not explained what it isn't doing that it should be.

Tomcraft

Haven't I? ???

When using the search for example to look up the word "test" I get 30 results and only 1 page in the pagination (see screenshot). There should be about 40 pages using the search term "test" on my forums.

Funny thing is that when changig the last parameter (;start=40) in the URL I get different search-results.