SpamBot or what

Started by Ron G4GWC, March 12, 2013, 08:59:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ron G4GWC

Hi My SMF is under attack, the forum has only been in use for about a month but has been under constant attack by Bots for about 10 days
I am concerned, the attacks use up to 29 I.P.s up to seven at a time. they call every file in SMF directory and lots of PHPSESSID=XXXXXX
Any Ideas how to stop this attack, What is going on, why is it so relentless, about 3 tries per minute currently.

Deaks

phpsessid is default SMF, this could simply be bots indexing your site, if you go to your who is online list, click on one of the IP's, in most cases a search site is highlighted, click that if not click any (may have to go through them 1 by 1) and that will tell you if its a bot or not, but this sounds like normal behaviour for them.  Not all bots are bad and so far nothing worries me (but im not an expert on bots)
~~~~
Former SMF Project Manager
Former SMF Customizer

"For as lang as hunner o us is in life, in nae wey
will we thole the Soothron tae owergang us. In truth it isna for glory, or wealth, or
honours that we fecht, but for freedom alane, that nae honest cheil gies up but wi life
itsel."

Ron G4GWC

Hi thanks for the response is it normal for them to pesist for 10 days or more I get little info from I.P. lookup no site urls I closed down the directory for 2 days, they are still there trying, they are 99.9% of the traffic to my forum, before I tightened up registration they posted 3000+
Medics ad posts on the site, Mad

Deaks

Ah you never mentioned they were posting :P this is not normal then

A few questions then (sorry but need to set a baseline of what you have or dont have)

Do you have any registration option enabled such as security questions, captcha etc?
Do you have your forum as automatic registration and not activated by email or admin?
Have you looked at any of these mods?