2.0 to 2.0.4

Started by NeedIt, May 09, 2013, 02:02:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NeedIt

I'm a newbie at this and have a basic question about upgrades.  I am currently sitting at 2.0 and need to go to 2.0.4 assuming it will work with the ad mod.

To do this, I have to go from 2.0 to 2.0.1 and then upgrade to 2.0.2 and then 2.0.3 and so on as multistep process, right?

In other words, there is no way to go from 2.0 to 2.0.4 directly, right?

I just want to make sure I'm not missing something...

Chalky

Right :)  You need to do it in order one step at a time.  Don't forget to backup before you start  ;)

NeedIt

Quote from: ChalkCat on May 09, 2013, 02:05:04 PM
Right :)  You need to do it in order one step at a time.  Don't forget to backup before you start  ;)

What about this?  I found this:

Can I use the middle option on this page?

http://download.simplemachines.org/

In other words, if I use the "Large Upgrade" option, it will take me from 2.0 to 2.0.4, right? Or am I misinterpreting?

YogiBear

You can do that but Chalky's method is the easiest. I know someone who tried to go directly from 1.1.11 to 1.1.18 ended up with a MySQL database error which put her forum off-line so she had to rely on a backup.

If it were me I'd go incrementally 2.0 > 2.0.1 > etc...
SMF v2.1.3  Mods : Snow & Garland v1.4,  PHP  v.7.4.33

Arantor

If you go directly from 2.0 to 2.0.4 with the Large Upgrade, you will have to reinstall any other mods you have. Not recommended for minor upgrades like yours.

Chalky