Transferring to Another Host

Started by keng_113, July 22, 2013, 07:53:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

keng_113

Hi I'm planning transfer my website (www.pinoyshoegame.org) to another web host. I'm actually new at everything here so kindly let me know what I need to provide.

Here are my questions:

Is it easy?
What are the first thing I need to do?
Are there any chance that I may lose anything?

Thanks a lot, guys!

Kindred

it's all pretty much answered there.

Without SPECIFIC questions from you, we can't make any further suggestions
(other than, always, always, always take backups)
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

MrPhil

Back up (files and database). Double check that you have a good and complete backup, sitting on your PC. Watch out for SMF attachments and avatars -- FileZilla will corrupt them unless you explicitly tell it to transfer in binary. Don't burn your bridges to your old host until your new site is confirmed up and running (check the attachments and avatars too).

keng_113

Thanks, everyone! BTW, are there any techniques on how to check if transfer is 110% successful? Thanks again.

a10

Quoteare there any techniques on how to check if transfer is 110% successful?
maybe not 110%, but checking for same exact filesize is a good start.
2.0.19, php 8.0.23, MariaDB 10.5.15. Mods: Contact Page, Like Posts, Responsive Curve, Search Focus Dropdown, Add Join Date to Post.

Kindred

well, The first thing is to learn basic mathematics, since 110% success is impossible :P   (I am joking!)

if your system works on the new host, then it was successful.
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.