News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Is it only Admins that can see ALL PMs?

Started by ozstoco1, September 03, 2013, 09:36:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ozstoco1

I don't want to start a mud fight with this topic - just want an answer.

Being an Admin, I get notification of all PMs on my forum - I want to know - do my Global Mods get the same private info as well pls?

If so - where can I mitigate this?

Thanks and Regards,
Dave

Arantor

Um, you shouldn't be getting any notification of any PM other than ones you receive yourself...

Colin

Ozstoco1,

No one can see others PMs other than those reported which are available to administrators.
"If everybody is thinking alike, then somebody is not thinking." - Gen. George S. Patton Jr.

Colin

mashby

Any mods installed? Done any manual coding? What you are describing isn't part of the out-of-the-box install, nor do I think any mod would do this (that I am aware of so maybe you can ignore that question...maybe). Maybe I'll ask it this way, are you running a non-modded SMF site? :)
Always be a little kinder than necessary.
- James M. Barrie

PierreP_whited00r_com

Quote from: ozstoco1 on September 03, 2013, 09:36:30 PM
...I get notification of all PMs on my forum - I want to know...

Sounds like the NSA. :o

PM is short for Personal messages. From that SMF Online Manual page:

Quote...By default, there is no way an administrator or anyone else can read your personal messages...

Shambles

Quote from: ozstoco1
I don't want to start a mud fight with this topic ...

That in itself suggests you have a non-standard alerting system in place which, by admission, seems to disclose the contents of private messages not targeted at your own inbox.

Got a link to your forum, so I can avoid it?

TheDragon

I was just about to make the same topic
(PM getting emailed to Admin)

My global moderator and I are getting email copies of PM
with this in the Subject Line: