News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

Several questions - new to SMF (2.0.5)

Started by andreysc7, October 08, 2013, 07:50:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

andreysc7

Hi guys,

I am new to SMF and I have remade my website's forum, cleaner and I guess that is also better.

Here are my questions :
- How to prevent the registration of those bots ? Even if they didn't posted yet, I don't want to have 90% bots and 10% users. ( I can see that recaptcha is not very strong)
>>> If I check a new user that just registered, I can see that those real users were online at least once, but on those bots, at the "last active" it says never. As a human, it it possible to be never online if you have activated your account ? Because I was thinking to delete those users who are never online

- I would like to know how to remove the names of the groups because I have made some small banners for each group and its useless to have administrator wrote 2 times (see image)

- How can display the banner/star/badge of the secondary groups ? I have seen that there were some mods for the older versions but for 2.0.5 I didn't found anything. Can you help me to solve it ? (by the way, I know nothing about coding, so, I hope that you understand that you want to advise me to modify some code line, I need some explanations)

Burke ♞ Knight

1. Use the verification questions in registration settings.

2. Have you searched the Mod Site for a possible solution to this?

3. That is an ongoing issue, with no real answer, I think.

andreysc7

Thanks for fast reply

1. Done - I will wait to see what happens next , if the problem persists

2. Yes and I didn't anything compatible with 2.0.5 :(

3. I guess that I will wait until someone will make a mod for this version  :(

Kindred

Any mod which works on 2.0.x will work on any other version of 2.0.x.

Look at the FAQ for information on how to install a mod on a different version.
Слaва
Украинi