Advertisement:

Author Topic: Password From Old Site not working In SmF  (Read 3470 times)

Offline mattizzy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Gender: Male
    • mattizzy.okeke on Facebook
    • @mattizzyo on Twitter
Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« on: July 21, 2018, 07:26:04 AM »
I migrated to SMF with custom script because mine wasn't found. I encountered some bug which is yet to be solved but what's making me unhappy is I can't login.

E.g


username: Steven
passwd : *the hash*

please is it because the username's initial is on capital??
I am only an SMF Addict. I think I took overdose.

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,543
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • There's No Place Like 127.0.0.1
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2018, 07:27:46 AM »
This is really difficult to answer, because we don't know where you migrated from, and what that script you used actually did...
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.
  Fooling around with an i7 990X @ 3,47Ghz / 12Gb / Win 10 x64 / 3840x2160


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline mattizzy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Gender: Male
    • mattizzy.okeke on Facebook
    • @mattizzyo on Twitter
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2018, 07:31:27 AM »
I migrated from a custom forum script.

What I used is Insert into smf_members (fields), select from custom_users(field). that's what I did, the password hash is the same with that of the custom users after import but still not work
I am only an SMF Addict. I think I took overdose.

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,543
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • There's No Place Like 127.0.0.1
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2018, 07:33:34 AM »
That is probably exactly why it doesn't work. You just copied it over, and I'm willing to bet your custom script and SMF handle passwords very differently.
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.
  Fooling around with an i7 990X @ 3,47Ghz / 12Gb / Win 10 x64 / 3840x2160


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline mattizzy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Gender: Male
    • mattizzy.okeke on Facebook
    • @mattizzyo on Twitter
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2018, 07:37:11 AM »
That is probably exactly why it doesn't work. You just copied it over, and I'm willing to bet your custom script and SMF handle passwords very differently.

So what can I do? is there any converter I can edit to that of my script?
I am only an SMF Addict. I think I took overdose.

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,543
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • There's No Place Like 127.0.0.1
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2018, 07:41:00 AM »
Not my area of expertise, someone else will know better, but I'd say a good start would be knowing how the passwords are created in your old software.
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.
  Fooling around with an i7 990X @ 3,47Ghz / 12Gb / Win 10 x64 / 3840x2160


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline mattizzy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Gender: Male
    • mattizzy.okeke on Facebook
    • @mattizzyo on Twitter
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2018, 07:42:36 AM »
okay thank u
I am only an SMF Addict. I think I took overdose.

Offline mattizzy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Gender: Male
    • mattizzy.okeke on Facebook
    • @mattizzyo on Twitter
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2018, 07:53:14 AM »
I just check and found out they use sha1($password);

$password = strtolower($username) . $pass;

that's what they use before inserting data.

What can I do now I know how they made the password.

I am only an SMF Addict. I think I took overdose.

Online SychO

  • Lead Customizer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,467
  • Gender: Male
    • SychO9 on GitHub
    • SychO
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2018, 07:54:26 AM »
I just check and found out they use sha1($password);

What can I do now I know how they made the password

how did you make yours

Imazighen

Offline mattizzy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Gender: Male
    • mattizzy.okeke on Facebook
    • @mattizzyo on Twitter
Re: Password From Old Site not working In SmF
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2018, 08:00:16 AM »
I just check and found out they use sha1($password);

What can I do now I know how they made the password

how did you make yours


$password = strtolower($username) . $pass;

the same way with SMF.
where $pass is what you get from the input
I am only an SMF Addict. I think I took overdose.