Advertisement:

Author Topic: URL Popup  (Read 19673 times)

Offline live627

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,267
  • Gender: Male
  • Cat: Destroy!
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #40 on: January 26, 2015, 07:23:53 PM »
P.S. I would like to link to my source but am not allowed to post external links..
You can now that you've made a post.
Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.
- Albert Einstein

Offline Chas Large

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,101
  • Gender: Male
  • Running 2.0.xx on Apache.
    • Chas.Large on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/charles-large-568ba213 on LinkedIn
    • @https://twitter.com/ on Twitter
    • Chas Large's Site
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #41 on: May 31, 2015, 07:05:53 AM »
Just been alerted to and proved that this mod causes the Safari Browser on and iPad to close when the button is clicked. Using it in Chrome on an iPad just freezes Chrome with the popup window visible, can't click OK or Cancel.

Am just installing Safari on a Win 8.1 box to test and will report.

My and my friend's iPads both show the same issue, we're both on iOS 8.3
My Modifications :)  My Forum

Please DO NOT PM me with support requests. Post the problem in the appropriate Support Board so everyone can benefit from the advice given.

Offline Westwegoman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 189
  • Gender: Male
    • westwegoman on Facebook
    • Westwegoman on LinkedIn
    • Bayou State Fishing
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #42 on: May 31, 2015, 10:01:34 PM »
Just tested on Safari on iPhone running iOS 8.3 and it crashed.

Offline Robomcd

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Newcastles of the World Forum
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #43 on: March 01, 2016, 01:37:19 PM »
Thanks, just installed it. Works great for our not-internet savvy target group   ;D

Offline Chas Large

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,101
  • Gender: Male
  • Running 2.0.xx on Apache.
    • Chas.Large on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/charles-large-568ba213 on LinkedIn
    • @https://twitter.com/ on Twitter
    • Chas Large's Site
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #44 on: April 30, 2016, 01:19:58 PM »
Hi Arantor,

Any way to remove the "http://" from the input box? We have many users with tablets that do not automatically overwrite it when pasting in a URL. Works OK on a PC as it's pre highlighted but with iPad and some other devices the highlighting is cancelled when pasting in the URL so you get two "http://"s and have to edit the box. Seems a bit superfluous anyway when copying and pasting a URL, as they always have the http:// included even if it does not show in the address bar.

I tried changing this:

Code: [Select]
var sText = prompt(oEditorStrings['prompt_text_url'], 'http://');
to this

Code: [Select]
var sText = prompt(oEditorStrings['prompt_text_url'], '');
but it made no difference, the http:// was still there.

I uninstalled the mod and edited the editor j script file to remove all hard coded 'http://' s but still there so gave up.

I don't use the WYSIWYG editor at all. I checked the BBC code too for the button but editing that to failed to remove the http:// from the box so reinstalled your mod and told folk to edit the dialog but it would be nice to be able to remove it.

If it's simply, no, can't be done then fair enough but had to ask.

Thanks
Chas.
My Modifications :)  My Forum

Please DO NOT PM me with support requests. Post the problem in the appropriate Support Board so everyone can benefit from the advice given.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #45 on: April 30, 2016, 02:15:11 PM »
That should generally do it for non WYSIWYG but if you only edited the file, you might still be using an old cache version, so edit it then do a hard refresh or clear your cache manually.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Chas Large

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,101
  • Gender: Male
  • Running 2.0.xx on Apache.
    • Chas.Large on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/charles-large-568ba213 on LinkedIn
    • @https://twitter.com/ on Twitter
    • Chas Large's Site
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #46 on: May 02, 2016, 04:19:07 PM »
That should generally do it for non WYSIWYG but if you only edited the file, you might still be using an old cache version, so edit it then do a hard refresh or clear your cache manually.

Arghhh, the dreaded cache. I did clear the browser cache but not the forum cache. Doing both and reloading did indeed do the job.

Thanks.
My Modifications :)  My Forum

Please DO NOT PM me with support requests. Post the problem in the appropriate Support Board so everyone can benefit from the advice given.

Offline Rock Lee

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,211
  • Gender: Male
  • Digitalizando un nuevo mundo :D
    • BomberCode.Oficial on Facebook
    • RockLee-BC on GitHub
    • @Bomber_Code on Twitter
    • Bomber Code ~ La nueva era del conocimiento
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #47 on: May 07, 2016, 01:33:19 PM »
@Arantor It looks little but here I leave the translation to the Latin Spanish ... I'll use it without hesitation to something I have in mind!

Modifications.spanish_latin-utf8.php and Modifications.spanish_latin.php
Code: [Select]
$txt['prompt_text_desc'] = 'Por favor, introduzca el texto de lo que debe decir el enlace.';

Regards!
¡Regresando como cual Fenix! ~ Bomber Code © 2017
Ayudas - Aportes - Tutoriales - Y mucho mas!!!

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,629
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #48 on: September 11, 2016, 06:42:30 AM »
Hmm I've installed this but I can't get it to work. I've got WYSIWYG disabled across the board because people paste some weird stuff and it is a disaster so I know it's not that. I don't have any other BBC mods installed either. Any tips? I can't find any settings either. Using Chrome if that makes a difference (but I sure hope not) :).
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring forum: Color Me Forum/Patreon.

Offline DJ Doena

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #49 on: October 30, 2016, 05:27:41 AM »
Hi,

just installed it on 2.0.12. Unfortunately it simply overwrites any selected text and asks for a new description. Is there an updated version of this mod that already contains the "GetSelectedText" feature?

Offline Kolya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 412
  • systemshock.org
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #50 on: March 04, 2017, 08:04:43 AM »
This uses the selected text to create a link. It only prompts for linktext if no text was selected before.
Tested in Firefox, Chrome and IE 11.

Online Dwev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #51 on: January 12, 2018, 05:58:56 AM »
@ Kolya: I tested the version listed on the Mod-page and was pretty happy with it.

Luckily I checked this thread as well, because this version is even better, thank you very, very much!   ;D

Offline franhaselden

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #52 on: January 14, 2018, 02:12:20 PM »
Just gave the 1.0.3 and don't see any change... Using WYSIWG. Any ideas how to debug?

Offline Kolya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 412
  • systemshock.org
Re: URL Popup
« Reply #53 on: January 14, 2018, 02:37:54 PM »
Uninstall the previous version, install 1.0.3.
Select some text in the editor, click the link button. Enter a URL.
The text you selected is used as link-text.