Windows Changed SMF Files to All Lower Case

Started by ForumGuy789, May 03, 2014, 11:02:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ForumGuy789

This is an interesting problem. I've been running SMF fine on windows for 7 yrs or so. Well recently my web host went to shyte and they made me migrate onto a server that when i FTP'd my SMF files onto it it changed all the files and directories to lower case!

But since this is a Windows system it ran fine, and i didn't even notice the file name changes for a while. Windows and IIS I guess have case insensitivity in everything including php code ran on it.

Well i want to join the rest of the world now and run SMF on CentOS/Apache but the smf code is looking for the php files with case sensitivity so it's not working!

There are a LOT of files to go through and manually fix their cases. That's a last resort that I might consider.

But so far I've tried setting this on the apache server config file and it didn't seem to help - unless i used it wrong.
CheckSpelling On
CheckCaseOnly On

That didn't seem to work.

I should also mention that I have a few mods installed so would rather not install fresh new files.

Any other suggestions? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Lou69

This may work .... since most files will be the same unless modified by a mod, you could uninstall all mods and themes and then copy over the source files and whatever else from a fresh download. Save a copy of the Settings.php just in case ... infact, backup everything first. :)

When finished copying, then reinstall your themes and then install the mods. Deleting the cache would not hurt either.

Kindred

it actually sounds like whoever transferred your files screwed up.
Windows, as stupid as it is, should still maintain the case of filenames.
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.