Advertisement:

Author Topic: Website loads blank paGe automatically  (Read 3801 times)

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Website loads blank paGe automatically
« on: June 06, 2014, 12:08:06 PM »
For some hours now I've not been able to access my forum. It just loads a blank page. I don't know how it came about because I didn't tamper with anything. I've visited my cPanel and everything is just fine... All the subdomains are working perfectly... Is there anyhow to fix this issue without loosing data or causing more harm?

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,428
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2014, 12:20:17 PM »
URL? SMF Version?

Did you check with your host?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2014, 12:32:26 PM »
Sorry, Here's the url http://guruszone.net ....v2.0.7 ...I just emailed my host about the issue. But if it were a problem from my host, won't the subdomains be affected as well?

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,428
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2014, 12:36:45 PM »
Well, let me put it this way...

the white screen of death (WSOD) is indicative of an error in the code level of php.
(in other words, it can't even run enough to generate a page with a visible error)

Look in your root/forum directory... is there a file called error.log or some variation?
that would tell us what the problem is...

but, if 2.0.7 was running fine and then stopped running without any updates or changes being made - then that usually suggests that the host has changed something on their side.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Online Oldiesmann

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 24,904
  • Gender: Male
  • Ask me about the function DB :)
    • oldiesmann on Facebook
    • Oldiesmann on GitHub
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/michaeleshom on LinkedIn
    • @oldiesmann on Twitter
    • Archie Comics Fan Forum
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2014, 12:55:12 PM »
There should be a file in the forum directory called "error_log". That will have further information about what's going on.
Michael Eshom
Cincy Space - now open!

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2014, 05:34:18 PM »
Okay... I'll check that out, try to fix it n get back here...thanks for dropping by!

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2014, 08:17:11 PM »
Still not been able to fix this..this is what I see in the error log... Screenshot from my Blackberry device attached.  I really really need assistance with this issue. My site has been offline for 3days now, and the most annoying part is that nothing was tampered with, it just came up!

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,428
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2014, 08:22:07 PM »
there is not an actual file?

Typically, if you did nothing, that usually means that your host did do something

Did you ask your host?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2014, 08:32:46 PM »
there is not an actual file?

Typically, if you did nothing, that usually means that your host did do something

Did you ask your host?

Yes I did. And they said its not from the host, that its from the script I'm running.

There's a file of about 17mb. I'll check on its details right away..

kat

  • Guest
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2014, 05:34:55 AM »
Quote
Not Found

The requested URL http://guruszone.net/index.php was not found on this server.

Umm....

File permissions/ownership?

If your host's upgraded a server, or something, those might've changed. (Assuming, of course, that index.php actually exists...)

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2014, 06:39:12 AM »
Hmmmmm...they claim its not from their end.  Is there anyway I can resolve this myself...the index.php does exist.

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2014, 06:48:43 AM »
I did tamper with the index.php but I've replaced it..still not resolved.

kat

  • Guest
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2014, 07:20:40 AM »
http://guruszone.net/ssi_examples.php isn't working, either.

Sorry... But, I think your host's telling fibs.

However, did you use FTP, to get that "error_log" file?

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2014, 07:55:44 AM »
Attached below is a copy of my error_log since 31st May till date...

kat

  • Guest
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2014, 08:08:53 AM »
PrettyUrls is pretty pointless, to be honest. LOTS of errors, from that, there.

You know... In your place, I think I'd backup, first, then do this:

http://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/How_to_upload_a_fresh_set_of_files

I wouldn't bother putting PrettyUrls back, though.

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2014, 08:34:48 AM »
PrettyUrls is pretty pointless, to be honest. LOTS of errors, from that, there.

You know... In your place, I think I'd backup, first, then do this:

http://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/How_to_upload_a_fresh_set_of_files

I wouldn't bother putting PrettyUrls back, though.

Hmmm...guess I've got a lotta work to do then. Thanks a lot for all your time. I'll do just your suggestion.

kat

  • Guest
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2014, 08:46:15 AM »
It's not as huge a job as it looks, to be honest. Just a bit time-consuming, unless your upload speed's OK. :)

Offline von COLLINZO

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Gender: Male
  • No Coding, No life!
    • collinsedim on Facebook
    • @@edimcollins on Twitter
    • Leakite Android Blog
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2014, 02:20:45 PM »
Uhm, if I happen to overwrite all files, it means I'll have to run the install again coz the file containing database info will be overwritten... Am I right?

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 72,951
Re: Website loads blank paGe automatically
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2014, 02:49:19 PM »
No.

If you overwrite all the files using the large upgrade package, Settings.php and the database are left alone.