News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Preview hangs if user types an apostrophe in their message...

Started by johnmck6, June 06, 2014, 01:58:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnmck6

I emailed them a detailed description of the issue, hopefully they can figure it out.

If this helps, I created a phpversion file:

http://www.jpmckay.com/phpversion.php [nofollow]

(I'm no expert at this stuff, just googled how to find out the version...)

Arantor

Well, I already knew it was PHP 5.3.28 since the server admits as much quite happily (as is standard for PHP), but unfortunately this isn't a PHP configurable thing, this sounds like an issue with mod_security under the hood which is an Apache module (and the server admits it's running Apache)

johnmck6

Waiting for a reply from them.

Interestingly, I noticed a new quirk.

If I type a reply without any apostrophes, then preview it, it previews fine. Then, sometimes, if I go back and insert an apostrophe into that reply, it will preview fine. But extending the reply by adding a letter at the end makes it no longer preview.

Weirdness

Arantor

johnmck6

OK, well it's not very satisfying but the problem is resolved.

The solution was to move my account to another server, in another data center, but still owned by the same hosting company. The guy from support was very helpful, and we tried about a million things. In the end, though, it was just a hunch I had that moving to another server would solve it, and it did, for now.

Thanks for the help, I learned a lot!

Ninja ZX-10RR

I don't know what you think arantor but to me they moved it to a server with mod_security disabled and maybe different settings. What do you think? I was following this topic but no way I could answer better than you so I was just shutting up. But then? Mod_security off and there it goes? It sounds so weird as regards the relative behaviour though...