News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

[FREE] symbol in front of site name

Started by Auke, July 15, 2014, 04:20:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Auke

Hello all,

In front of the names of websites there is a place for a small symbol (in case of SMF forum something that looks like a seesaw). Could somebody here please tell me how to put a symbol in that place?

Thanks in advance,

Auke

Auke

Thank you. So it's called a favicon.

What I see is that I have to edit /Themes/default/index.template.php as follows:

Find <head> then add after:

echo ' <link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico" />';

I got no clue how to do this... Where do I find this /Themes/default/~ ?

Sorry, I'm a newbie... ::)

Auke

Illori

usually you dont need to do that. just upload the file to the main folder of your forum and your browser should pick it up automatically.

Auke

I'm pretty sure there are some elephants in the room which I'm overlooking, but...
- where do I find this file?
- where do I find the 'main folder' of my forum?

Depending on what I see when I find file and folder I also might need some assistance on how to do the uploading.

Auke

Kindred

You have to create the file yourself

You upload it to whatever directory your forum is installed to on your site.
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Auke

Ah, okay, thank you.

That's bound to go wrong with me. I'll leave it for sometime in the future.

Auke

Kindred

There are many sites which will convert any normal image that you want to try into an ico for favicon usage
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.