Adding A Button Isn't Working For Me

Started by Semetery, July 21, 2014, 11:17:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Semetery

Hello there,

I'm at a loss here trying to add a button to my menu. I use the theme 'Concept', which is amazing! But, probably because I'm still very new to SMF, I'm having the hardest time trying to add a new button to the menu. It's been a menu nightmare thus far. Haha.

I've searched and searched and cannot seem to get it working, clearing the cache and all. I dug through index.template.php and haven't found anything specific and I've added what I thought was the proper code in Subs.php and defined the txt string in Modifications.english.php and it doesn't work, nothing changes at all.

Here's the code I put in index.template
'site' => array(
'title' => $txt['Site'],
'href' => 'http://mysiteurl.com',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),

I put it below this:

'help' => array(
'title' => $txt['help'],
'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),

And here's what I put in modifications.english
$txt['site'] = 'Site';

I guess I'm doing something wrong but it isn't working at all, I've seen absolutely no difference since adding the code. Is it a theme specific thing in this case?

Anyone who helps me, I greatly appreciate it, my head is spinning trying to figure out where I'm going wrong. I've tried mods and they either failed during installation (so I didn't install them) or they didn't work at all (for me). Thanks!

Arantor

$txt['site'] isn't the same as $txt['Site']. You have to be precise about this, it's case specific.

If you declare it as $txt['site'] in Modifications.english.php, you need to use $txt['site'] in Subs.php.

Semetery

Thanks for the reply!

I changed Site to site across the board and it still isn't showing up. I cleared the board cache as well as my browser cache. For some reason, I cannot get the menu to change at all. I have no menu related mods installed at all.