Advertisement:

Author Topic: Moving my forum index to my home tab  (Read 6576 times)

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Moving my forum index to my home tab
« on: January 18, 2015, 06:01:43 PM »
I have created a page on my navigation bar called advance topic with my boards and images next to them, however now the contents there which i am quite happy with i wish to move it into my home button.
just wanted to know is there a easy way to do this?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,271
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2015, 07:53:21 PM »
Edit the menu array in subs.php
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline BryanD

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,147
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2015, 10:52:52 PM »
Kindred that wasnt helpful ... I know your team is doing bad or something is going wrong with what I see in whatever sport your watching, but consider his other posts do you think that helps him :P

Also editing subs.php works for 1 part of what he is asking.

He wants to move his forum to well forum and use his own page as Home but using his code.

edit

I didnt think about this till now but you could use a portal such as Simple Portal, create a front page block that uses html and copy the required code in.   You would need to tweak your code but should do as you wish.
Former Project Manager and Customizer of SMF
Former Marketing and Vice-President of Simple Machines

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,271
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2015, 11:00:23 PM »
?? Huh?

He asked how to mive some stuff in his menu...

I don't see anything in that request about a homepage outside the forum or anything...

And FYI, my team was winning from the start and never looked back....
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline BryanD

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,147
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2015, 11:02:31 PM »
and he asked about page as well ... evidently we both read something different :P

and your team may be winning but your not happy with some of the calls :P
Former Project Manager and Customizer of SMF
Former Marketing and Vice-President of Simple Machines

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,271
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2015, 11:08:18 PM »
Lol... They won... Superbowl, here we come...   And the refs in any sport always make bad calls. ;)
I swear they do it in purpose, so the fans have something to complain about.

Anyway...   Yeah... I think bruce needs to more clearly state what he is actually trying to do.

Edit. Damned autocorrect
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline BryanD

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,147
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2015, 11:15:59 PM »
Lol... They won... Superbowl, here we come...   And the refs in any sport always make bad calls. ;)
I swear they do it in purpose, so the fans have something to complain about.

I know what you mean I have stopped commentating on Rugby when I watch it as the ref is usually blind, I stick to posting when my team scores ... 6 Nations is coming up so expect alot of rugby starting in February

Anyway...   Yeah... I think bruce needs to more clearly state what he episode actually trying to do.

Well he asked me how to explain it better so I told him after a few questions and he seems to have used his own way of posting instead.
Former Project Manager and Customizer of SMF
Former Marketing and Vice-President of Simple Machines

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2015, 05:57:45 AM »
fyi
I'm still working on it.
i haven't figured out the solution yet, so that's why i haven't reported it back.

kat

  • Guest
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2015, 08:16:46 AM »
I have to confess... I haven't worked out what you want to do.

I'm reading it as you having created a page called "Advanced topic" and you want the "Home" button to link to that, instead of the forum home.

If that's right (Which I doubt), you'll need to butcher this, in the file that Kindred mentioned.

Code: [Select]
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
),

If that's not what you meant, I have to say that I haven't got a clue what you DO mean... :P

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2015, 02:57:50 PM »
I'm reading it as you having created a page called "Advanced topic" and you want the "Home" button to link to that, instead of the forum home.


Code: [Select]
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
),


[/quote]

Egg-Zack-lee 
thats what i want to do K@ but i was thinking of starting all over again and putting all the contents this time first in the forum home instead of redirecting it, but still i am not certain if this is a good practice to do.

However looking at this code above if i where to redirect it would i need to alter this......to

'home' => array (  my url...advance topics  )
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],


would this be correct?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,271
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2015, 03:29:10 PM »
you don't want any sort of redirect involved.

you would modify the href, which is currently set to $scripturl,  to point to whatever you want.

However, I would tell you that modifying the home is probably a BAD idea.   I would recommend doing what I did on fx-sabers...   add a new "site home" button instead.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2015, 05:33:24 AM »
I done it as suggested but the landing page when i first call up my forum it start out on my original home page which is blank.
If i placed the content in the href and set it to show 'true'
It does work if i press the home tab but my concerns are as i was reading this topic
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=480206.0
the url is only used if it is to be redirected to an external site, which this isnt
I also seen your  forum with the new site home tab on the navigation bar that you added and i was thinking of this as well but it looks to me this is a external website that you created, if i am correct.
I didnt quiet have this in mind

I still have an issue when the forum first initializes even though the home button seems to be working as should

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2015, 08:55:52 PM »
Bump
my home page is still not loading correctly.
I have set the subs.php as mentioned but still the main entry into my forum isn't showing.
I need to hit the home tab for this to reload

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,271
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2015, 08:58:05 PM »
Sorry Bruce, but what you just said doesn't make a lot of sense to me...

Please include the actual url so I can see what you are talking about?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2015, 09:03:58 PM »
I can show you my forum but i prefer not to show anyone here as i am yet to complete my forum.
Unless i can send you a personal pm
you will then see the home tab and the advance topics on how they are dispalying
« Last Edit: January 30, 2015, 09:20:09 PM by Bruce the Shark »

Offline BryanD

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,147
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2015, 10:43:23 AM »
By what I understand he has changed the home button to his page and for this case say its home.php now thats good if they click that but internal links are taking him to index.php not home.php.
Former Project Manager and Customizer of SMF
Former Marketing and Vice-President of Simple Machines

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2015, 03:18:21 PM »
By what I understand he has changed the home button to his page and for this case say its home.php now thats good if they click that but internal links are taking him to index.php not home.php.

yes this is whats happening.
But when you first enter the forum the screen is completely blank.
If you press the home button the screen refreshes and then the contents shows up.

if this was for an example an ordinary web page i am able to adjust the navigation bar to pretty much to my liking and have it working  in many different ways but since this is a forum the coding in the subs.php that needs this adjustment becomes a bit more involved for me. Again i am not a coder.
Although i have altered this if sort of not working out the way it should be.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,271
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2015, 03:49:50 PM »
Sorry... Maybe I am just being dense... But I still don't understand your issue.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Bruce the Shark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 294
  • Gender: Male
  • It never rains in only pours.
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2015, 04:20:54 PM »
yes its difficult to explain

I have an image to show you.

This is what happens when you first enter my forum

kat

  • Guest
Re: Moving my forum index to my home tab
« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2015, 04:48:04 PM »
I'm not sure, here...

I believe browsers, if you don't stipulate a precise file, look for index.php/index.htm/index.html.

If it doesn't find them, it kinda goes "Durrr" and does squat, or gives some error.

So, if your site is at http://www.brucethedeadshark.com/home.php just going to http://www.brucethedeadshark.com is gonna make the browser brain-fart.

If you hit your "Home" button, you're telling it to go to a specific file, so it finds it and does it's stuff.

Maybe you should have an index.php file, which loads home.php?

That's if I've understood what's going on, here. :)