Advertisement:

Author Topic: Responsive Curve  (Read 168333 times)

Offline Rickard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 233
  • Gender: Male
    • Värmepumpsforum
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #120 on: May 10, 2015, 10:51:04 AM »
Hi.

I tried this package, but it didnt work well with my theme (Csmanul_20)
I uninstalled the package, but there are images missing, and wrong menu background images (When for example "Forum" menu active, it displays some kind of folder icon...
Any idea where this images are, i have been locking for 1 hour and cant find it.

forum affected is www.atvforum.se

Edit, page was cached in my mobile phone, after closing all pages and reopening, it looks OK.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2015, 11:27:58 AM by Rickard »
Admin for 3 forums:
www.varmepumpsforum.com
www.poolforum.se
www.atvforum.se
SMF 2.0.15
Default Theme: CS Manual by crip
Simple Portal 2.3.7
Got my own hosted and managed server on www.space2u.com

Offline grimes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #121 on: May 10, 2015, 11:32:06 AM »
Our forum has a width of 90% (no fixed width) and lost responsive changes. I have another simple test forum and that has also lost responsiveness after some time with "Responsive Curve" mod. Problem seems to be reproducible.

EDIT: Aha. Removing "90%" and leaving "forum width" blank and responsive design is restored!
« Last Edit: May 10, 2015, 11:43:17 AM by grimes »

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,375
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #122 on: May 10, 2015, 11:57:39 AM »
Rickard, this is only designed to work with the default/curve there

Grimes... Yes... If you force a width, it will overpower the responsiveness.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline redsosis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #123 on: May 10, 2015, 12:06:54 PM »
Take a look at Admin > Configuration > Theme & Layout >Theme Settings.
Click on your default Theme. Did you specify a fixed width? If so, try to remove it.

If that didn't work, try this:

Themes/default/css/index.css:

/* This division wraps the entire forum when a forum width is set. */
div#wrapper
{
   margin: 0 auto;
   min-width: 764px;
   max-width: 2300px;
}

Modify min-width to 320px;

Well thank you Mr. Jinx & Kinded,
Now its going normal again. :D

Offline Rickard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 233
  • Gender: Male
    • Värmepumpsforum
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #124 on: May 11, 2015, 02:56:13 AM »
Rickard, this is only designed to work with the default/curve there

Grimes... Yes... If you force a width, it will overpower the responsiveness.

I just lost in googles index on my top key words, from place 6 to 18.
A responsive design is getting really important.
I would like to close the simple portal automatically and go to for example Redsy theme (http://demo.smftricks.com/index.php?theme=57) as soon as a mobile device (or google) visits my forums.
I have trying to find clear and consis instructions for if this is at all possible, but i dont find any auot-detect feature that seems to be supported.
Is there anyone that can give me instructions for how to make this possible?
I am absolutely clear about the fact that all my adverts will disappear, but right now it seems to be a small problem, if google indexes my sites even lower i will loose visitors, advertisers and income anyway.
Any suggestions would be much appretiated.

I am going to hire help for the changes needed, but some tips to get us going would be nice.
Admin for 3 forums:
www.varmepumpsforum.com
www.poolforum.se
www.atvforum.se
SMF 2.0.15
Default Theme: CS Manual by crip
Simple Portal 2.3.7
Got my own hosted and managed server on www.space2u.com

Offline margarett

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,759
  • Gender: Male
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #125 on: May 11, 2015, 03:56:55 AM »
That goes a bit out the scope of this topic. You should open a new topic for your issue ;)
Anyway, this is a good place to start: http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=3349
Se forem conduzir, não bebam. Se forem beber... CHAMEM-ME!!!! :D

Quote
Over 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

Offline huns

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #126 on: May 13, 2015, 02:21:55 PM »
Any pro could take a look at our site and tell me why the plugin/mod is not applying correctly?
hxxps://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php

Errors:
> Content wider than screen
> Links too close together

I did purge file cache on Cloudflare and enabled Development Mode before trying the check tools and the site myself.
Thanks!

ps.:
Installed addons:
> SMF latest version (via package patch)
> Restrict Email Providers 1.3 custom
> Responsive Curve 1.0 beta 4

Site configuration:
> memcached
> Xcache
> suhosin
> HTTPS redirect enforced via mod_rewrite - apache

Cloudflare:
> All optimization, maximum protection - But I disabled it when I tested

Offline Mr. Jinx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 475
  • Gender: Male
    • Ziggo Forum Chelloo
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #127 on: May 13, 2015, 04:35:15 PM »
Just read a few posts up. You have your forum width fixed at 764px.

Offline huns

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #128 on: May 13, 2015, 04:37:44 PM »
Yeah I saw that one (read all the pages here and at announcement), but I don't want to edit by hand to cause issues with future updates or mods.

So should I fork the mod and add this fix to it?
Or will it get fixed?

Offline Mr. Jinx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 475
  • Gender: Male
    • Ziggo Forum Chelloo
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #129 on: May 13, 2015, 04:54:36 PM »
Nah, just read better :)
Ok I'll quote myself then:
Quote
Take a look at Admin > Configuration > Theme & Layout >Theme Settings.
Click on your default Theme. Did you specify a fixed width? If so, try to remove it.

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,375
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #130 on: May 13, 2015, 05:35:52 PM »
In short... There is nothing to be fixed, the issue is with your configuration options
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline huns

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #131 on: May 14, 2015, 02:40:21 AM »
Nah, just read better :)

If only someone would implement that TCP/IP punch thing...

Quote from: Kindred
In short... There is nothing to be fixed, the issue is with your configuration options

1) Installed SMF (2.0.1 or whatever was it back then)
2) Installed patches (usually I used package upgrades, but I also used big upgrades sometimes, so mixed)
3) Installed a single mod that restricts registrations (does nothing to themes)
4) Installed SMF Curve Mod (which is supposed to add/replace any code needed)

... 5) "Wrong settings."

Look guys, I'm not even trying to bait or troll or whatever here.
I have a simple SMF forum, simple as it gets.
There is no modification in the default Theme files whatsoever, because the forum used custom themes since forever.

So that is why I'm here, why I am asking if the addon misses a replace command or something, because it should transform a vanilla look 100% into responsive.
At least, that's what the page says about the plugin.

Yes, I understand there is a dirty fix to replace things by hand. But I would much prefer an addon that would do it.
No, it's not an issue if this addon is not "complete", I will just modify it, so in case I have to remove it, I will get back a nice and clean installation with no ugly hacks.


tl;dr: You think it's PEBKAC, while it is an issue with older SMF installations or something - I do not know what changed from the first 2.0 release.
Maybe there were theme changes too, I don't know - as I wrote, we used a custom theme since the first install.

Offline roshaoar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 205
  • Gender: Male
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #132 on: May 14, 2015, 03:07:15 AM »
FYI - I have one testforum with responsive curve v3 - extreme-macro.co.uk/forumstest/ - and it validates "awesome". But another testforum - extreme-macro.co.uk/boards/ - with responsive curve V4, ie the update this week, fails on the same 2 things as Huns. I suspect that V4 may not have had the same things applied as V3 did when Google changed its validation requirement 2 days after mobilegeddon.

Offline live627

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,965
  • Gender: Male
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #133 on: May 14, 2015, 03:41:52 AM »
Quote
I understand there is a dirty fix to replace things by hand
Eh, an admin setting isn't too dirty...

Admin > Configuration > Theme & Layout > Theme Settings > Current Theme > Forum width: 90%

Offline roshaoar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 205
  • Gender: Male
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #134 on: May 14, 2015, 03:56:15 AM »
Fyi - the config setting is set at 90% on the V4 board that fails the test for me.

Offline huns

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #135 on: May 14, 2015, 03:57:16 AM »
Quote
I understand there is a dirty fix to replace things by hand
Eh, an admin setting isn't too dirty...

Admin > Configuration > Theme & Layout > Theme Settings > Current Theme > Forum width: 90%

Thank you. The first actually helpful, non-agressive, non-personal reply in the thread. Would rate this 5* on eBay. :)
The only thing I missed was that I can click on the Theme Name under Theme Settings.
And the Forum Widh was 90%, I had to remove it just like grimes said.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 08:52:54 AM by margarett »

Offline roshaoar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 205
  • Gender: Male
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #136 on: May 14, 2015, 04:08:27 AM »
yep removing that 90% on V4 passes the test with flying colours, and setting it back makes it fail.

I have to say I'm confused then that v3 passes test with it set. I kind of like the padding there  :o

Offline margarett

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,759
  • Gender: Male
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #137 on: May 14, 2015, 08:54:10 AM »
I removed the pointless argument. Please keep it civil ;)
Se forem conduzir, não bebam. Se forem beber... CHAMEM-ME!!!! :D

Quote
Over 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

Offline roshaoar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 205
  • Gender: Male
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #138 on: May 14, 2015, 09:34:23 AM »
I have to say, I'm really just really playing, but making your own silvery light theme based on responsive curve is an absolute doddle. No weird surprises, everything in both the master curve and the responsive css logical and structured... not total rocket science how it all fits together... hooray. Dark maybe trickier because you have to invert a lot of stuff but I'll cross that bridge when I get to it...

Offline hitsme

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Responsive Curve
« Reply #139 on: May 21, 2015, 04:04:57 PM »
FYI - I have one testforum with responsive curve v3 - extreme-macro.co.uk/forumstest/ - and it validates "awesome". But another testforum - extreme-macro.co.uk/boards/ - with responsive curve V4, ie the update this week, fails on the same 2 things as Huns. I suspect that V4 may not have had the same things applied as V3 did when Google changed its validation requirement 2 days after mobilegeddon.

yep removing that 90% on V4 passes the test with flying colours, and setting it back makes it fail.

I have to say I'm confused then that v3 passes test with it set. I kind of like the padding there  :o
I had the same issue
how does % expand the width