2 forums at the same time - 2 different domains?

Started by Campanule, July 14, 2016, 11:22:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Campanule

I know I am only an expert in asking "stupid" questions but

Is it possible to have 2 SMF forums on the same computer at the same time?

I have a forum and I wanted to move it to another domain (same host). I can't figure out how and my host says it is too complicated for them to do it for me

So I think I will start from the beginning on the new domain and when it is ready I will close the old forum and domain. But in between there will be 2

I hope you understand my English and my question  :)

LiroyvH

Is it possible to have 2 SMF forums on the same computer at the same time?

Yes of course, one server also runs multiple SMF forums generally.
As long as they're in a different folder and have their own mySQL database: no problem at all, you can run a 100 from your PC.
(Granted they're small ;) 100 might be a bit overexaggerated, but you get the idea.)

I have a forum and I wanted to move it to another domain (same host). I can't figure out how and my host says it is too complicated for them to do it for me

... Find another host.
((U + C + I)x(10 − S)) / 20xAx1 / (1 − sin(F / 10))
President/CEO of Simple Machines - Server Manager
Please do not PM for support - anything else is usually OK.

Illori

Kindred

Please note that MOVING a forum is fairly straight forward

http://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/Hosting_-_How_do_I_move_my_SMF_forum_to_a_different_host
this same applies to moving to a different domain within the same host, but may be even simpler...

MERGING two forums is complicated.
So, if you planned to run two separate forums and then merge them, you are in for a world of hurt. :(
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."