News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Add a link back to website from SMF forum

Started by Chaoticone, September 05, 2016, 09:50:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chaoticone

I'm not sure if I should post here or not because this is an old topic: http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=476927.0 but it is so relative I hate not to.

riou, thanks for the link! Following it I got my menu edited and working like I want (without having to reverse engineer everything or have a phd in php) with one exception. The links do not open in a new tab but I wish they did. Anyone know if I can add a bit of code, use a different function, call or whatever it's called (I'm no programmer) to open the link in a new tab? I have used target="_blank" in some simple webpages before but php started throwing rotten fruit at me when I tried it this time.  :o Maybe a way to append the web address to include the target="_blank" in the end result?

SMF 2.0.11

This is the snippet I added.

// [External Links]
'exlinks' => array(
'title' => 'Some Other Websites',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
'view' => array(
'title' => 'Other Site One.net',
'href' => 'http://www.othersiteone.net/',
'show' => true,
),
'post' => array(
'title' => 'Other Site Two',
'href' => 'http://www.Othersitetwo.com/',
'show' => true,
'is_last' => true,
),
),
'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
),

Link to previous topic added for context - Iris.

Kindred

Add target as another variable in the array
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Sir Osis of Liver

Ashes and diamonds, foe and friend,
 we were all equal in the end.

- R. Waters

skb