News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

Changing the Webmaster Email Address

Started by Alec Durbervilles, September 20, 2016, 05:09:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alec Durbervilles

I'm having a problem. My email notification system stopped working recently and I traced it to a bad email ([email protected]) that makes all mail undeliverable. I went into the Admin panel under Server Settings and tried to change the Webmaster Email Address, but it won't allow me to change it. Then I thought I would go to the original Webmaster's profile (she has been inactive for over two years) to change her email address there. That change took but it didn't cause the old email address to change in Server Settings under Webmaster Email Address.

I'm not a programmer and I'm not all that savvy in website stuff, but I managed to go into my webhost's control panel and pull up the file manager to look through some of the files. In the root, I found the settings.php file where the Webmaster Email Address is stored and, sure enough, the changes I made to the previous webmaster's profile were there (the new, and hopefully good email address is listed) even though the old one still shows up in Admin under Server Settings. More importantly, the site's email notification system is still using the bad email domain. All the emails are kicking back as undeliverable.

It affects us in a couple of ways. Members who choose to be notified by email whenever someone responds to a comment or a PM are not being notified. Also, we've installed the Mentions mod, which sends people an email whenever they're mentioned in a post. That's not working either.

How do I force the system to accept a new email address for the Webmaster?

Alec Durbervilles

Some additional information: The bottom of my home page says I'm using version 2.0.6

but I've tried to install newer versions and they always fail. For example, my package manager shows this at the top.