Advertisement:

Author Topic: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection  (Read 12761 times)

Offline dougiefresh

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,702
  • Mod King
    • XPtsp.com Community
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2016, 09:06:40 PM »
I would also like to use this mod, if it can detect ublock. I found a site which can do that and looked at the page source.

This is a script i found in the page source, could this be of any help to you do adapt the code?
Care to share the website?  I don't understand what it's checking for.....
News: Missing GitHub repository...

My Free Simple Machines mods on XPtsp.com, Simple Machines Customization Site, and at GitHub!
Problem uninstalling mods?  Try Arantor's Sortable Packages (and Installed Time) mod!  It's super helpful!

Offline Black Tiger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 577
  • Gender: Male
    • Satellite Fun
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2016, 04:36:44 AM »
Sure, maybe you can find more then I do, I'm no coder.
The website is webwereld.nl it's a dutch languaged site.
Greetings, Black Tiger

Offline PyroTech03

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Gender: Male
    • @pyrotech03 on Twitter
    • Obtenebration Network
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2016, 11:35:33 PM »
I'm curious if someone can help me understand if this relates to my issue...

I run 4 ad sections on every page that runs some direct sales ads as well as adsense. I was making some money via adsense for this.

I found this mod and installed it. Shows once every 30 minutes to same user.

It seems I have not made any income from adsense from the point I enabled this mod. The ads were still showing up on board.

Is there something with how this ad comes up that adsense is invalidating the impression? Coincidence? Anywhere someone can recommend asking this?

I have disabled the mod to test but was wondering if anyone else has noticed this behavior?

Thanks in advance!
YouTube personality PyroTech03 http://www.youtube.com/pyrotech03stream [nofollow]

Owner of Obtenebration Network, home for YouTube gaming content creators and fans! http://www.obten.net [nofollow]

Offline dougiefresh

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,702
  • Mod King
    • XPtsp.com Community
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2016, 09:04:41 PM »
I don't know why this would be happening, but I would guess that AdSense is checking the page for the ad code.  Since the ad code technically isn't on the page when it loads, you aren't getting credit for the ad.  So, I'm adding an option to include the contents of the popup inline in the HTML.
News: Missing GitHub repository...

My Free Simple Machines mods on XPtsp.com, Simple Machines Customization Site, and at GitHub!
Problem uninstalling mods?  Try Arantor's Sortable Packages (and Installed Time) mod!  It's super helpful!

Offline PyroTech03

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Gender: Male
    • @pyrotech03 on Twitter
    • Obtenebration Network
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2016, 11:05:06 PM »
I have/had it set to display immediately, I wonder if using delay would have any effect (if this is in fact what's happening).
YouTube personality PyroTech03 http://www.youtube.com/pyrotech03stream [nofollow]

Owner of Obtenebration Network, home for YouTube gaming content creators and fans! http://www.obten.net [nofollow]

Offline nend

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,755
  • 2 deep n2 the code
    • sicommnend on GitHub
    • SIComm.us
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2016, 12:06:52 AM »
I don't know why this would be happening, but I would guess that AdSense is checking the page for the ad code.  Since the ad code technically isn't on the page when it loads, you aren't getting credit for the ad.  So, I'm adding an option to include the contents of the popup inline in the HTML.
How is your pop up being displayed? If it covers the page then it violates the terms.

I say this because when the Adsense Bot crawls the page it blocks its own ads in the render, so it will see the warning just like if it had a Ad Blocker installed. The same goes for GoogleBot as well.

I ran into my own problems with it.
http://www.sicomm.us/t/229/?start=msg370#msg370

Offline dougiefresh

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,702
  • Mod King
    • XPtsp.com Community
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #26 on: November 30, 2016, 09:51:56 PM »
Interesting....  I guess no changes in the mod will be needed to address this, as it is something that I can't change....
News: Missing GitHub repository...

My Free Simple Machines mods on XPtsp.com, Simple Machines Customization Site, and at GitHub!
Problem uninstalling mods?  Try Arantor's Sortable Packages (and Installed Time) mod!  It's super helpful!

Offline snadge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 369
    • TheTechForum on Facebook
    • @The_Tech_Forum on Twitter
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #27 on: December 28, 2016, 02:00:04 PM »
i cant get this to work on 2.0.12 - when i enabled adblocplus on both firefox or chrome then visit my site i dont get any warning?

thanks

Offline dougiefresh

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,702
  • Mod King
    • XPtsp.com Community
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #28 on: December 29, 2016, 09:50:54 AM »
i cant get this to work on 2.0.12 - when i enabled adblocplus on both firefox or chrome then visit my site i dont get any warning?
Did you enable adblock detection in the mod?  If not, then that's why you aren't seeing anything there.....
News: Missing GitHub repository...

My Free Simple Machines mods on XPtsp.com, Simple Machines Customization Site, and at GitHub!
Problem uninstalling mods?  Try Arantor's Sortable Packages (and Installed Time) mod!  It's super helpful!

Offline snadge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 369
    • TheTechForum on Facebook
    • @The_Tech_Forum on Twitter
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #29 on: December 29, 2016, 11:04:04 AM »
duh! lol


works a charm ta! ;)

Offline nicotoine

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 278
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #30 on: January 22, 2017, 11:05:31 AM »
Hello,
I love your mod, is it possible to add an option to open the popup from a link
and to be able to open several different ones.
thank you very much.  ;)

Offline BellGab.com

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • BellGab.com
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #31 on: March 16, 2017, 04:47:21 AM »
Seems to work great. Thanks.

Offline DeveloperMcD

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #32 on: March 19, 2017, 08:39:41 PM »
How do you implement a close button?

I wrote up some HTML, and all the other settings work well. I'm getting the pop-up every time I enable ad-block (for the session, always, etc. depending on what I have set in the control panel)

However, there is no way to get rid of the window, aside from turning off AdBlock and hitting "refresh". As tempting as that is, I can't force that on my users at this time.

I tried <ESC>, clicking the window, etc. but nothing will make it go away.

Do I have to put in some custom javascript? And if so, what kind? What do I have to trigger to make the window go away?


Offline dougiefresh

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,702
  • Mod King
    • XPtsp.com Community
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #33 on: March 21, 2017, 06:51:35 AM »
@DeveloperMcD:  Go into the mod settings and check Can close Popup on AdBlock detection?.  That SHOULD allow users to close the popup while using Adblock detection.  If it doesn't, let me know.
News: Missing GitHub repository...

My Free Simple Machines mods on XPtsp.com, Simple Machines Customization Site, and at GitHub!
Problem uninstalling mods?  Try Arantor's Sortable Packages (and Installed Time) mod!  It's super helpful!

Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,026
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #34 on: March 25, 2017, 04:59:20 PM »
1- Popup doesn`t show no matter what I did. I applied all those things you said above. I also use enotify and ad management mods. So maybe a conflict there?

2- When you add a Turkish character in opt-in field and save, it removes everything in that field. I think this is a bug. Cause I can`t add any Turkish characters in the popup
« Last Edit: March 25, 2017, 05:14:57 PM by PLAYBOY »

Offline KyrrTube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #35 on: May 03, 2017, 04:05:31 AM »
Weird problem, How can I fix these?

Offline andsim

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2017, 09:53:25 PM »
i have a problem
when i changes html to blockadblock.com they provide the code to in ur plugin html it say in as default html as before i put my. also when i turn can "Can close Popup on AdBlock detection?' disable the close when on enabled
by the way in my HTML contents of Opt-In file:
is empty should display nothing


Offline maglix04

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #37 on: September 03, 2017, 08:17:36 AM »
Is it possible Pop-up this to be a JPG file instead of  HTML code?
No, you must use HTML code to refer to the image, like this:
Code: [Select]
<img src="/link/to/the/image" />
Congratulations for your mod, but I can't insert image whit code html
Code: [Select]
<html>
<head>
<meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1"
http-equiv="content-type">
<title></title>
</head>
<body>
<span style="text-decoration: underline;"><img
style="width: 342px; height: 253px;" alt="antiadblock"
src="antiadblock.jpeg"></span><br>
</body>
</html>

Pop-up is empty, Why?

Offline dougiefresh

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,702
  • Mod King
    • XPtsp.com Community
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #38 on: September 04, 2017, 12:17:38 AM »
You don't need the html and body tags, as it isn't a whole webpage you're including.  Try just this:
Code: [Select]
<img style="width: 342px; height: 253px;" alt="antiadblock" src="antiadblock.jpeg">Only make sure the full path to the file is included, as relative image links may or may not work.....
News: Missing GitHub repository...

My Free Simple Machines mods on XPtsp.com, Simple Machines Customization Site, and at GitHub!
Problem uninstalling mods?  Try Arantor's Sortable Packages (and Installed Time) mod!  It's super helpful!

Offline maglix04

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Real Popup with AdBlock Detection
« Reply #39 on: September 04, 2017, 10:52:31 AM »
Thanks, now all ok.