Advertisement:

Author Topic: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared  (Read 5081 times)

Offline Burt

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #20 on: October 07, 2016, 04:58:01 AM »
If you have no compatible accelerator, it will fall back to the file cache. Which is where the problem is due to the serialise routine used by the cache and specifically the (new) unserialise routine deciding that there's too much data and just dropping it.


This is a screenshot of my SMF acknowledging that it has detected Memcached.


If I select any level of caching the main menu disappear with 2.0.12.


Am I supposed to insert some code in Memcache setting?
 
Am I doing something wrong or version 2.0.12 is not supposed to be used?


If you could help, it would be appreciated...
If you Sig. line is longer or higher than two line, you are just an attention seeker. Grow up!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,980
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2016, 08:46:11 AM »
It detects that you have the library available for it. It doesn't (and can't) detect that you have memcache running and if you did, you'd probably know what the settings were that you had to put in there (since SMF needs to know the IP address and port number of the memcache server)

Since you didn't give it any details, it falls back to the file cache with the broken code.

As for what to do, that's up to the team to decide whether to pull 2.0.12 or publish a fix for it.

In the interim turn off the cache entirely.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,767
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #22 on: October 07, 2016, 09:21:12 AM »
we will be publishing a 2.0.13 fix soon
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Burt

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #23 on: October 08, 2016, 07:43:26 AM »
Thanks guys


@Arantor


Since day one I always had the cache set to the level 1. I never play with it and I don't know much at all about memcache.


As you can see from the picture, I have turned off the cache. This was also the only way for me to install 2.0.12.


Just to learn something, the Ip address and port number, are they supposed to be input in the second empty field? (the one below the cache level?) Is anywhere I can read to learn a bit more about this topic?


@Kindred


Great news... Thanks
If you Sig. line is longer or higher than two line, you are just an attention seeker. Grow up!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,980
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #24 on: October 08, 2016, 08:35:35 AM »
You had it set to level 1 because that's the default.

memcache is a type of server. You have to put the server's details into SMF for it to work - an empty input guarantees you were not using memcache.

I don't unfortunately have documentation for memcache that would be useful but unless you're using a VPS or better, I'm almost certain you won't have memcache installed on your server anyway.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Burt

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #25 on: October 18, 2016, 10:28:01 AM »
You had it set to level 1 because that's the default.

memcache is a type of server. You have to put the server's details into SMF for it to work - an empty input guarantees you were not using memcache.

I don't unfortunately have documentation for memcache that would be useful but unless you're using a VPS or better, I'm almost certain you won't have memcache installed on your server anyway.


Sorry for the delay...



I always had it set to level 1, as when I tried Level 2 or Level 3 it just crashed...(well I haven't tried again since 2.0.6)


I don't get it... If I don't have memcache installed on my server, why then SMF says the opposite (as per picture in my above post)? Is this a bug?


Cheers
If you Sig. line is longer or higher than two line, you are just an attention seeker. Grow up!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,980
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #26 on: October 18, 2016, 10:51:07 AM »
No, it's not a bug at all.

You need two things for memcache, the memcache server and the memcache client. PHP is telling you that you have the memcache client available. Unless you also have the server part installed, it won't work, but PHP doesn't know if there is a server there or not, only presence of the client.

If you're on shared hosting, you don't have the server part.
If you're on a VPS or better, either you or the server administrator would know what the details are.

Since it doesn't have server details, it falls back to the file cache, which is what broke in 2.0.12.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Burt

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: Upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.12 and top menus disappeared
« Reply #27 on: November 01, 2016, 07:22:51 PM »
Thank Arantor...


I'm on a share hosting, so it is all good... I'll wait for the 2.0.13


Keep up the good work guys...
If you Sig. line is longer or higher than two line, you are just an attention seeker. Grow up!