Advertisement:

Author Topic: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls  (Read 5368 times)

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« on: June 03, 2017, 11:17:19 AM »
Hello all,

Noticing that my forum was a bit outdated, I tried updating. That brings me to the first problem: upgrading from 1.1.15 to 1.1.21 already  broke the forum, but, guessing that that was because I installed the latest language pack, I continued to upgrade.

Now the forum doesn't work at all anymore, but I guess that is because the upgrade stalls at step 4: Database Changes, at "Executing: "Changing column names." (1 of 42)". I don't see any error messages, other than "Server has not responded for 300 seconds. It may be worth waiting a little longer or otherwise please click here to try this step again".

There must be something going terribly wrong, but as there are no messages, I don't know what. The size of the database shouldn't be the problem: 5 MB, and that is including a WordPress site, and the SMF backup tables.

How do I go about now? Put back the database backup and start over?

PS. I tried repair_settings.php, but that didn't work either: according to the manual about it, I should not forget to push the "Save" button, but there is none.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2017, 04:09:14 PM »
Assuming you have a good database backup from 1.1.15 install, get back to .15 and start over.  You need to upgrade successfully to .21, then to 2.0.13.  If first step doesn't work, you have to fix that before attempting upgrade to 2.0.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2017, 10:22:49 AM »
So, I have the database back at where it was. The forum didn't work, because the files were still at 1.1.21 (or 2.*, not sure anymore), so I downloaded the 1.1.15 Upgrade ZIP-file and put that in place.

Now, seeing that the database was already at 1.1.15, the Upgrade should run without problems, I thought, but that stalls too. I quote:
Quote
Converting "log_boards"... Unsuccessful!
This query:

    SELECT lmr.ID_BOARD, lmr.ID_MEMBER, lmr.logTime
    FROM smf_log_mark_read AS lmr
    LEFT JOIN smf_log_boards AS lb ON (lb.ID_BOARD = lmr.ID_BOARD AND lb.ID_MEMBER = lmr.ID_MEMBER)
    WHERE lb.logTime < lmr.logTime;

Caused the error:

    Unknown column 'lmr.logTime' in 'field list'

Apparently smf_log_mark_read is missing a column (or more); should I now add it by hand, and if so, what should be its type?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2017, 11:38:39 PM »
Did you try upgrading from 1.1.15 to 1.1.21?  Don't currently have a 1.1.x install, but that column does not exist in 2.0 core.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2017, 03:50:09 AM »
Did you try upgrading from 1.1.15 to 1.1.21?  Don't currently have a 1.1.x install, but that column does not exist in 2.0 core.
Not yet, this was when trying to run the 1.1.15 Upgrade on a database that is supposed to be 1.1.15.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2017, 01:20:09 PM »
You need to get the forum running in 1.1.15 again.  Do you have database and file backups from the working forum?

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2017, 04:09:26 AM »
You need to get the forum running in 1.1.15 again.  Do you have database and file backups from the working forum?
Uploaded the 1.1.15 Install package (without Settings.php and install.php), now it seems to be working, sort of.

Three things: I see a red warning block now, with the text: "!!

upgrade.php!
repair_settings.php!".

Second: I seem to be missing a lot of translations. Would that be a problem?

Third: a big notice at the bottom: "Sorry, the copyright must be in the template.
Please notify this forum's administrator that this site is missing the copyright message for SMF so they can rectify the situation. [...]" I take it I can ignore that, until all is updated and working again?


Offline Dzonny

  • Lead Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,514
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2017, 05:28:23 AM »
Hey there,

Are you using default theme? If not, please switch to default and see if those problems still appear?

For the first problem, just remove upgrade.php and repair_settings.php file from your forums root directory.
For missing translation - if you uploaded install package from our site english translation should be included in there. If you're using custom language other than English, please update that language pack as well.
And the third problem, please take a look at this:
Why am I getting a message saying the copyright is missing?
I assume that this is related to outdated language pack as well, so when you update language it'll be fixed though.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2017, 07:46:59 AM »
Hey there,

Are you using default theme? If not, please switch to default and see if those problems still appear?
Yes, I was, and am, using default theme.

Quote
For the first problem, just remove upgrade.php and repair_settings.php file from your forums root directory.
Ah, the notice is gone now, thanks.

Quote
For missing translation - if you uploaded install package from our site english translation should be included in there. If you're using custom language other than English, please update that language pack as well.
I uploaded the latest Dutch language pack (2.0.14) and uploaded it. Nothing changed.
What would happen if I removed the Dutch translations (for now)? Would the forum fall back to English, or just crash?

Quote
And the third problem, please take a look at this:
Why am I getting a message saying the copyright is missing?
I assume that this is related to outdated language pack as well, so when you update language it'll be fixed though.
Can I ignore this, for now, and fix this when all updating is done? I expect this problem to evaporate when theme and language packs are "in sync" again, am I right?

Offline Dzonny

  • Lead Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,514
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2017, 08:45:43 AM »
You can change default language in admin panel to English, that'll do the trick.
After that please make sure you have backup saved (files+database ofc) and then proceed with the upgrade.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2017, 01:16:52 PM »
You can change default language in admin panel to English, that'll do the trick.
After that please make sure you have backup saved (files+database ofc) and then proceed with the upgrade.
Did this, then did the upgrade to 1.1.21. That went well, I saw no errors on the forum.

Then I proceeded with the 2.0.14 Upgrade, but that stalled (again) at "Step 4: Database Changes"; if I understand correctly, "Executing upgrade script 1 of 2." was completed succesfully. But then, when I pressed "Continue", it timed out, with the message "Error!
Server has not responded for 30 seconds. It may be worth waiting a little longer or otherwise please click here to try this step again".

I waited 5 minutes, then pressed "click here" once, but the same result.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2017, 01:24:51 PM »
If 1.1.21 is running without errors and your content is intact, try upgrading to 2.0.13. 

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2017, 05:05:48 AM »
If 1.1.21 is running without errors and your content is intact, try upgrading to 2.0.13.
I went back to 1.1.21, then tried upgrading to 2.0.13, but the result is the same.

Offline Dzonny

  • Lead Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,514
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2017, 05:29:36 AM »
If upgrade resulted in same: getting that message that server has not responded for 30 seconds - might be worth to try to Click on that link to try again few times and see if there's a change.

Offline SpacePhoenix

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2017, 05:33:55 AM »
What version of PHP are you running?

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2017, 04:04:35 PM »
What version of PHP are you running?
Output of phpversion(): 5.5.23

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2017, 04:06:32 PM »
If upgrade resulted in same: getting that message that server has not responded for 30 seconds - might be worth to try to Click on that link to try again few times and see if there's a change.
Tried it 5 times, waited several minutes each time. No change. :(

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2017, 04:37:17 PM »
I've run into this problem on a couple of forums, don't remember what caused it but it's fixable.  Will look through my notes when I get chance, see if I can find it.

Who's your host?

Offline Catalyst

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #18 on: June 14, 2017, 10:53:07 AM »
I'm having the same problem upgrading to 2.0. Hosting with Dreamhost, php 5.6.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #19 on: June 14, 2017, 03:53:03 PM »
I've run into this problem on a couple of forums, don't remember what caused it but it's fixable.  Will look through my notes when I get chance, see if I can find it.
That would be great, thanks in advance.

Quote
Who's your host?
If you mean the hosting company, that's WebReus (webreus.nl).
If you mean the URL of the forum: I'd rather not tell here, but I'd be happy to tell you by PM, if this is what you mean.
If you mean something else, please tell me.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #20 on: June 14, 2017, 10:44:48 PM »
Can't come up with it.  Looks like you're running php 5.5 and MySQL 5.7, shouldn't be any problem there.  You can upgrade to php 5.6, but don't think that will fix it.  PM the forum link, let's see what you've got.

Offline Catalyst

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #21 on: June 15, 2017, 12:46:07 AM »
If you two come up with the solution can you post it here?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #22 on: June 15, 2017, 04:21:16 PM »
Check your error log, is it huge?  Worked on a couple of forums that had gigabyte log_errors table, don't recall if that's what affected upgrade.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #23 on: June 16, 2017, 08:51:04 AM »
Check your error log, is it huge?  Worked on a couple of forums that had gigabyte log_errors table, don't recall if that's what affected upgrade.
Large, but not huge, I'd say: 56 MB.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #24 on: June 16, 2017, 08:51:55 AM »
Can't come up with it.  Looks like you're running php 5.5 and MySQL 5.7, shouldn't be any problem there.  You can upgrade to php 5.6, but don't think that will fix it.
I don't think I have that power, using a Plesk admin panel.

Quote
PM the forum link, let's see what you've got.
Will do.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #25 on: June 16, 2017, 01:26:34 PM »
Getting what appears to be a server maintenance shutdown notice at your link -

  Onderhoud
  Het forum is tijdelijk gesloten wegens onderhoud. Excuses voor het ongemak.


Have you tried emptying error log, then run upgrade.php?



Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #26 on: June 17, 2017, 12:59:02 PM »
Getting what appears to be a server maintenance shutdown notice at your link -

  Onderhoud
  Het forum is tijdelijk gesloten wegens onderhoud. Excuses voor het ongemak.
Sorry, I forgot to turn that off.
Now it shows an error message.

Quote
Have you tried emptying error log, then run upgrade.php?
I haven't. Which error log do you mean?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #27 on: June 17, 2017, 04:01:15 PM »
That's a database error, you may have a partially upgraded db.  Can you restore the forum to working 1.1.21?

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #28 on: June 22, 2017, 03:40:20 PM »
That's a database error, you may have a partially upgraded db.  Can you restore the forum to working 1.1.21?
Done. I don't see any errors. :|

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #29 on: June 22, 2017, 04:07:07 PM »
Link to your forum?

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #30 on: June 28, 2017, 05:27:25 AM »

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #31 on: June 28, 2017, 12:46:49 PM »
Looks like a vanilla install.  If you can pm access to your host control panel, I'll try upgrade tonight.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #32 on: June 28, 2017, 03:24:06 PM »
Looks like a vanilla install.
Quite, that's why I don't understand updating is such a hassle.

Quote
If you can pm access to your host control panel, I'll try upgrade tonight.
I couldn't find your email address, so I could not register you. If you could be so kind to do so yourself, I'll give you access as soon as I see it.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #33 on: June 28, 2017, 09:56:28 PM »
Need cpanel access, or at minimum ftp access, to upgrade forum.  Will be on a while tonight.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #34 on: July 17, 2017, 02:42:18 AM »
Need cpanel access, or at minimum ftp access, to upgrade forum.  Will be on a while tonight.
Please tell me what you would upload? I am not allowed to give you that access, unfortunately.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #35 on: July 17, 2017, 01:15:04 PM »
It's difficult to guess what's wrong without access to the forum.  Rereading this topic, it's possible you damaged the 1.1.15 database in your first upgrade attempt.  You're currently running 1.1.21, but as guest can't see enough of the forum to determine if it's running normally.  I've registered as Sir Osis, can you activate?  Would be helpful if you could give me temporary admin access, would like to have a look at your logs, package manager, and several other things.

Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #36 on: July 17, 2017, 03:06:58 PM »
It's difficult to guess what's wrong without access to the forum.  Rereading this topic, it's possible you damaged the 1.1.15 database in your first upgrade attempt.  You're currently running 1.1.21, but as guest can't see enough of the forum to determine if it's running normally.
I'd guess so too, but I don't know where to look.

Quote
I've registered as Sir Osis, can you activate?  Would be helpful if you could give me temporary admin access, would like to have a look at your logs, package manager, and several other things.
You should have access now. Thanks in advance.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #37 on: July 17, 2017, 10:46:15 PM »
Everything seems to be working normally in 1.1.21.  Calendar was throwing an error, you had max year set to 2016, changed it to 2020 and it's fine.  No mods installed, just upgrade patches.  You're logging a lot of preg_replace(): errors because you're running 1.1.21 in php 5.5.  Cleared error log.  Your database is small, can't see any reason why upgrade is failing. 

- Do you have access to server logs?  Look for a file named error_log or something similar in your forum root or
account root.
- Are you uploading 2.0.14 large upgrade package to forum root?
- Running upgrade.php by direct link to forum root?
- Who is your host?


Offline Ooypunk

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #38 on: September 03, 2017, 11:45:03 AM »
Everything seems to be working normally in 1.1.21.  Calendar was throwing an error, you had max year set to 2016, changed it to 2020 and it's fine.  No mods installed, just upgrade patches.  You're logging a lot of preg_replace(): errors because you're running 1.1.21 in php 5.5.  Cleared error log.  Your database is small, can't see any reason why upgrade is failing. 

- Do you have access to server logs?  Look for a file named error_log or something similar in your forum root or
account root.
It's a bit large, but yes.

Quote
- Are you uploading 2.0.14 large upgrade package to forum root?
Yes.

Quote
- Running upgrade.php by direct link to forum root?
Not sure what you mean by that. I start the upgrade by visiting the forum, then changing in the address bar "index.php" to "upgrade.php" and hit enter.

Quote
- Who is your host?
WebReus

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,840
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Upgrade from 1.1.21 to 2.0.14 stalls
« Reply #39 on: September 03, 2017, 04:06:30 PM »
If you can pm FTP access (server/username/password) will see what I can do.