News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

"?" instead of Turkish Characters

Started by Ilkharnos, July 10, 2017, 07:11:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ilkharnos

Hello,

First of all, I am sorry if such a subject have already been brought here, or if I am in the wrong place.

I have a small SMF forum in Turkish language (2.0.14). I have been using it since 2009 without any language or character problem. Today I noticed a serious problem regarding Turkish characters.

Turkish characters seem to show properly in all of the forum areas...

...except when you click on a topic to show the user post. Then, Turkish characters get funny in the entire page.

If you get back to other sections of the forum after visiting a topic's index, Turkish characters get back to normal. This issue occurs only in the topic index.

I haven't got any idea about its cause. Yesterday it wasn't there. What I did yesterday was (in order):

- Installing bookmarks modification manually (I changed the codes manually with care, and it worked fine. There wasn't any character problems)

- Making a filezilla backup of "public_html" (done)

- Trying to make a database backup through phpMyAdmin. It wasn't successful, and it was my first failure ever since. I didn't receive any error messages, but the backup progress was stuck with a constantly-turning loading icon. There was no results.  I tried the same operation many times but I couldn't make it. I gave up and slept, without making any checks to my forum. Today, when I woke up, my forum was in this state.

I tried hard to find a solution, and I made some operations on my database (like changing the default charset to utf8 for all tables), but it didn't change anything.

Finally, I have zero knowledge regarding codes or databases. I do what I do by trial and error. So, I might have caused this by making a mistake somewhere.

I would be grateful for any assistance you may give. Thank you very much.

Regards