Advertisement:

Author Topic: Change Admin Username and Password  (Read 356 times)

Offline SpartaChris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Change Admin Username and Password
« on: January 19, 2018, 11:51:22 AM »
Hi all, just got my SMF install up and running but muffed it with my user name and password. Instead of the awesome name SpartaChris they tagged a bot-name on me. Is there any way to change it without reinstalling? Thanks!

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,282
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 11:59:38 AM »
An admin can change username in any account, including his own.  Go into Profile account settings, you should see (change) below Username.
“There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action.”  Goethe

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 52,499
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2018, 12:04:44 PM »
how did you set it up?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,282
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 12:10:30 PM »
they tagged a bot-name on me.

Who's they?  Sounds like a host installer was used. :P
“There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action.”  Goethe

Offline SpartaChris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2018, 12:22:00 PM »
They is a vague category of everybody that isn't me who might be responsible for my failings. The forum is hosted at Siteground, it was originally a Wordpress site but I wiped it out and installed SMF.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,282
  • We were all equal in the end.
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2018, 12:25:36 PM »
install.php asks you for admin username, if you installed the forum using install package, there's no way username would be anything other than what you entered.  If you used a cpanel installer (i.e., softaculous, fantastico, etc.), forum may not install correctly.
“There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action.”  Goethe

Offline SpartaChris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2018, 12:43:23 PM »
It was softaculous, the forum seems to be doing what it should be, somehow, someway, I screwed it up. Already managed to get in there and got my proper username and password going. Thanks for the help Scirosis.