Advertisement:

Author Topic: Change Admin Username and Password  (Read 305 times)

Offline SpartaChris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Change Admin Username and Password
« on: January 19, 2018, 11:51:22 AM »
Hi all, just got my SMF install up and running but muffed it with my user name and password. Instead of the awesome name SpartaChris they tagged a bot-name on me. Is there any way to change it without reinstalling? Thanks!

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,289
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 11:59:38 AM »
An admin can change username in any account, including his own.  Go into Profile account settings, you should see (change) below Username.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,259
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2018, 12:04:44 PM »
how did you set it up?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,289
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 12:10:30 PM »
they tagged a bot-name on me.

Who's they?  Sounds like a host installer was used. :P

Offline SpartaChris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2018, 12:22:00 PM »
They is a vague category of everybody that isn't me who might be responsible for my failings. The forum is hosted at Siteground, it was originally a Wordpress site but I wiped it out and installed SMF.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,289
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2018, 12:25:36 PM »
install.php asks you for admin username, if you installed the forum using install package, there's no way username would be anything other than what you entered.  If you used a cpanel installer (i.e., softaculous, fantastico, etc.), forum may not install correctly.

Offline SpartaChris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Change Admin Username and Password
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2018, 12:43:23 PM »
It was softaculous, the forum seems to be doing what it should be, somehow, someway, I screwed it up. Already managed to get in there and got my proper username and password going. Thanks for the help Scirosis.