Advertisement:

Author Topic: changing servers while upgrading  (Read 2726 times)

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
changing servers while upgrading
« on: November 21, 2017, 09:56:14 AM »
Hi,

I am trying to help our Forum group upgrade from 1.1.11 to latest SMF while also migrating to a new server.

I have tried several approaches:

  • install latest SMF on new server (worked ok) and then try to upload the datadump from the old (1.1.11) server - no go - there is a MySQL complaint about ENGINE vs.
  • install the version of SMF that was on the other server (1.1.11), then clear all data, and then try to import the dumped data, with the hope that upgrades on the new server can be managed, but the new server complains about "ERROR 1062 (23000) at line 13: Duplicate entry '1464' for key 'PRIMARY'" .
  • install an intermediate version of SMF (the one just before the skip to 2.0) and see whether that gets over the MySQL version incompatibility


Bottom line is that I can install SMF (any version) on the new server (and have done that thrice over [v1.1.11, 1.1.21,2.0.15], times two), but the uploads from that 1.1.11  data dump fail.  Doesn't seem like a corrupt file - just unhappy compatibility issues.

I have googled (a LOT) and checked this forum's message boards.  And tried many iterations on these themes. Most of the forum postings and google findings are for either moving from one up-to-date server to another, or just updating an existing SMF installation in place. 

So, a meta-question:  Is there a good approach to what I am trying to do? Were any of the above the right way to do it?   We have a retiring administrator with his server set-up to 1.1.11.  Trying to move to a different server,  with the latest SMF, but the data dump is from v. 1.1.11, and seems very stubborn about being imported.  And maybe MySQL isn't as backward compatible as it should be.  I am not experienced with SMF, though I'm getting more so.  But things worked as expected for installing -  was able to install each version just fine - so I think I just need some advice about the path to take to get the previous data properly incorporated.

Any big picture advice? 



 



 
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 10:21:10 AM by remingtonk »
Newbie, getting older by the minute

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,326
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 04:20:28 PM »
Best approach would be to upgrade to current version on old server (assuming forum is working correctly there), then move everything to new server.  You may not be able to upgrade from 1.1.11 to 2.0.14 directly.  Go from 1.1.11 to 1.1.21, make sure everything's working, then upgrade 1.1.11 to 2.0.14.

Offline Dzonny

  • Lead Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,675
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 04:21:42 PM »
Hello there and welcome to SMF community.

The best would be to actually firstly migrate your existing forum (without upgrading it) to new server, and have it working there. Please see the manual about that here:
How do I move my SMF forum to a different host?

After you have working copy of your forum, meaning it's connected to database, paths are correct etc, then you should proceed to actual upgrade process.
Please check the manual for that as well:
Upgrading SMF

Let us know if you have additional questions, we're always here to help! :)

EDIT: Or as Sir Osis said, you can upgrade current forum firstly and then move it to new server, whatever you prefer.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,326
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 04:27:56 PM »
The problem appears to be with the 1.1.11 database on the new server, that's why I suggested upgrading first, then moving.  Either method should work, assuming the db isn't damaged, which doesn't appear to be the case.

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2017, 07:23:22 AM »
Thank you folks.   I think I'll have trouble with the first suggestion (update on the old server, then move), because that server isn't mine, and the retiring admin asked me to do this for our group because he doesn't have the time to do it.  He's also halfway across the globe from me, so we are always a little out of sync with communications.

I'm going to try from scratch again with 1.1.11 on new server.  I did get that install working fine, and the fresh install database with welcome message and first user looked fine, its just that the data upload seemed to hit a wall because the sql isn't compatible with my server's MySQL running the database.  Maybe I can find a flag that will allow the deprecated SQL. 

I will try again.  It is nice to know that I was following the right train of thought.

And thanks for the tip about trying intermediate upgrades, instead of 1.1.11 straight to 2.0.14 (14 changed to 15 since I started this, so since I have 2.0.14 already, I might just try to get there first.  1.1.11 -> 1.1.21 -> 2.0.something. 

Thanks again.   I'll let you know how it goes.  (And write a help page if I can get it going)

Newbie, getting older by the minute

Offline Dzonny

  • Lead Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,675
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2017, 09:13:35 AM »
How are you trying to import the database to the new server? Do you know which database engine and version you were running on old server, and which one you have on new?
Are you using phpMyAdmin to import database? How big database is? Which error are you getting exactly? If it's the same as what you wrote in your first post, please paste the line 13 of your database sql file, so we can take a look at it.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,326
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2017, 11:53:24 AM »
Look in Admin -> Support and Credits, post the version info from both servers.

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2017, 09:33:46 AM »
Still working on this - collecting more info.


Old serverProposed new server
SMF 1.1.111.1.11
MySQL5.6.365.6.28
PHP5.25.6.182.0

I think I'm probably getting twisted around because I'm trying to preserve my server's (the target's) working Wordpress Multisite - and don't want to accidentally mess that up by tinkering with the MySQL and PHP versions.

I cleared out the SMF database, and started from scratch, with SMF 1.1.11 (to match the data-dump from the old server).  Went through the install steps. 

I get this error:   

Quote
Some of the queries were not executed properly. This could be caused by an unsupported (development or old) version of MySQL.

Technical information about the queries:
Line #22: You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'TYPE=MyISAM' at line 16
Line #40: You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'TYPE=MyISAM' at line 13
...
for a couple pages worth.

Which I see might reflect that I need to update my server's MySQL - but it is tangled with that Wordpress multisite installation, which was a big pain to set up, and I don't want that to break.

Any ideas?  I was thinking about just starting from scratch with a new free-tier server, but to get the right version combination to match the database dump seems like a real pain.

I'm wondering whether any of you might recognize what is going on from experience (I am new to SMF, and really not an admin - just competent enough to understand the issues and try things). Would be nice to avoid extra work if you could point me to another post or something for a quick fix.  I did hunt around and Google.   

Would appreciate any ideas to try. 

Thanks very much.





Newbie, getting older by the minute

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,339
    • Arantor on GitHub
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2017, 10:08:05 AM »
The problem is not that you need to update MySQL. The problem is that 1.1.x is so old it doesn't support newer PHP or newer MySQL.

I'd be inclined to do the upgrade to 2.0.13 (specifically) before moving, then move, then use the patches to move to 2.0.15.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2017, 08:47:12 AM »
Quick question:

I'm still working on the process I asked about in this thread - not constantly, though, so I'm sorry about the delay.

When going through an installation process (which I've done successfully several times now on a different server, with several versions), I'm getting this error:

     "Cannot connect to the MySQL database server with the supplied data.

     If you are not sure about what to type in, please contact your host."

         No such file or directory



Earlier in this thread, I was describing installing on an AWS instance, and this time I am on my local machine, a Mac laptop.

I can get to the MySQL server easily with the credentials, both from the command line, and through MySQL Workbench, which is my preferred interface. So I don't think it is mistyped creds that the message is complaining about.

That last part of the error message makes me think it could be file permissions, rather than the credentials. 

Does this look familiar?  I am following the Installation support information, including the file/directory permissions.  I tried searching for existing topics, but didn't find anything.

Just wanted to check quickly whether this rings a bell with you folks.   
 
Newbie, getting older by the minute

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2017, 06:58:42 AM »
And I forgot to mention than the MySQL version on the Mac is:  "Server version: 5.7.20 Homebrew"

The MySQL logs show complaints if I try to log in without credentials, but nothing turns up in the logs for this SMF install failure.  So, I can see the logs. 

I know there are various combinations of file permissions mentioned in the installation guide.  So I'll keep trying to jigger those, but thought maybe one of the experts would recognize what this is quickly and save me from having to pull my hair out trying everything.  I couldn't find this problem mentioned in the support pages, or with Google, but possible I missed something.

I'm surprised that after installing three versions multiple times successfully on a remote AWS server, this install on my local machine is failing. 

Ideas?  Anyone installed on a local Mac?  (OS Sierra 10.12.6)
Newbie, getting older by the minute

Online Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,887
  • Gender: Male
  • The Artist Formerly Known as LexArma
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2017, 06:04:20 AM »
Hi, where are we with this? Have you been able to figure out what was failing, or do you still need assistance with this? :)
Finnish Native Language Support Specialist & Former (Lead) Support Specialist

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2017, 06:41:49 AM »
I haven't solved it yet, but I'm now guessing it is the php.ini configuration and file permissions.

I usually don't host web services on my Mac, so it's taken me awhile to figure out where things are

I'm trying to go through these requirements:
Quote
The following must be changed in the php.ini file:
  • The engine directive must be set to On.
    The magic_quotes_sybase directive must be set to Off.
    The session.save_path directive must be set to a valid directory or empty.
    The file_uploads directive must be set to On.
    The upload_tmp_dir directive must be set to a valid directory or empty.

If anyone recognizes the complaint, and could save me time, that would be wonderful.  I was hoping it would look familiar to someone with a Mac installation. 

I'll post back if I happen upon the solution. 
Newbie, getting older by the minute

Online Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,887
  • Gender: Male
  • The Artist Formerly Known as LexArma
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2017, 10:17:52 AM »
Ok, I see multiple possible issues in this topic - which one are you currently working on specifically? 

MySQL login problems locally - I would start by making sure and double checking that the address and user credentials for database connections is actually valid and working.
Finnish Native Language Support Specialist & Former (Lead) Support Specialist

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2017, 09:42:54 AM »
Ok, I see multiple possible issues in this topic - which one are you currently working on specifically? 

MySQL login problems locally - I would start by making sure and double checking that the address and user credentials for database connections is actually valid and working.


Hi, thanks - this thread is a running description of things I've been trying so that I can transfer a old version (1.1.11) forum to a new server, and upgrade to the SMF 2. And started just by asking what the best approach would be from people who might have had experience.

Quick summary:
I've tried:
  • installing SMF 2.0.14 (was latest version at the time) on an AWS bitnami server.  Install worked fine, but I couldn't get the data backup loaded. There was a repeated MySQL complaint. (documented earlier in the thread)
  • installing the version running for the forum currently (on the server we want to replace) - that is version 1.1.11, then attempt to upload the data dump, but that didn't work either. The install went find, but the import didn't work - complaints about "Duplicate Entry" for a primary key, but looking into that made me think I would be chasing that around forever.
 

So, came back here, and asked about other ways to try.
They were:
  • installing SMF 1.1.21 on that server.  Install worked fine, but again, the import of the data failed. Again a repeated complaint, but this time about "TYPE=MyISAM"
    upgrade on the original server to at least 1.1.21, and then try moving the data. This option doesn't work for us, because original admin can't provide support access right now (which is why I am trying to do this), and we don't want to keep falling further and further behind.
Then: I thought maybe I could try getting the old version up on my local machine, a Mac Laptop. 
My webserver experience is with AWS EC2 standard LAMP configurations, and most recently bitnami's servers, so it took me some time to get my local server setup and working, but that is now working, and I can get to the first page of the SMF install, but now I get this:

When going through an installation process (which I've done successfully several times now on a different server, with several versions), I'm getting this error:

     "Cannot connect to the MySQL database server with the supplied data.

     If you are not sure about what to type in, please contact your host."

         No such file or directory



Earlier in this thread, I was describing installing on an AWS instance, and this time I am on my local machine, a Mac laptop.

I can get to the MySQL server easily with the credentials, both from the command line, and through MySQL Workbench, which is my preferred interface. So I don't think it is mistyped creds that the message is complaining about.

That last part of the error message makes me think it could be file permissions, rather than the credentials. 

Does this look familiar?  I am following the Installation support information, including the file/directory permissions.  I tried searching for existing topics, but didn't find anything.

Just wanted to check quickly whether this rings a bell with you folks.   
 

As I mentioned, I can get into MySQL with the credentials, but from command line, and my MySQL Workbench app.

I am currently working on the last thing I mentioned, because the previous approaches seemed to be hopelessly time consuming so we've left those behind (unless you recognize the issues mentioned in any of those scenarios, in which case I could revist.  I'm mostly just asking if anyone recognizes why that MySQL connection page would include "No such file or directory".  I've been trying to check file permissions, checking logs for errors, related to that connection complain, but I thought maybe someone could point me to where to look. I'm making some logical guesses of what to try, and restarted apache more times than I can recall now. 

So any suggestions are welcome.  Otherwise, I will just keeping thrashing away until I figure it out.  As which time, I will post here about what finally worked.  Thanks
PS> On the plus side, I'm learning more about SMF.  Previously, I'd just been a user with what is a small closed group of old friends. I'm a new member, and hadn't used SMF before.  I can get by fine with sysadmin things and troubleshooting, when I need to, but that is not my day job. 
Newbie, getting older by the minute

Online Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,887
  • Gender: Male
  • The Artist Formerly Known as LexArma
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2017, 09:55:53 AM »
  • installing SMF 1.1.21 on that server.  Install worked fine, but again, the import of the data failed. Again a repeated complaint, but this time about "TYPE=MyISAM"
For MySQL 5.5 and up you would have to use ENGINE = MyISAM
TYPE is no longer available.
Finnish Native Language Support Specialist & Former (Lead) Support Specialist

Offline remingtonk

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #16 on: December 23, 2017, 12:51:03 PM »
  • installing SMF 1.1.21 on that server.  Install worked fine, but again, the import of the data failed. Again a repeated complaint, but this time about "TYPE=MyISAM"
For MySQL 5.5 and up you would have to use ENGINE = MyISAM
TYPE is no longer available.

Hi, yeah, and thanks.  I know that - figured that out from the obvious message. So, I tried just swapping out the the various "TYPE=MyISAM"' lines to "ENGINE=MyISAM", but that just seemed to make more things unhappy (including me), and following that line seemed to be a rabbit hole worth going down anymore.  Once I stray down that road, I really run the risk of not being able to ask confident questions - because as I start editing, it's gets ever more difficult to describe.  Other advisors on this thread said that trying to fix that issue was probably hopeless.   

Fortunately, I do know how to keep troubleshooting, but I was just hoping that someone would immediately recognize this error page, given the circumstance we'd been through in the thread, and save me more head banging, if possible.  But if not, I'll eventually figure it out and will repost what magic combination I found that eventually worked.

Thanks, Lex
PS> I understand that it our group's "own damn fault" for falling behind. I'm just a newcomer to my forum group (and never of SMF before six months ago),  but when hearing the plea of the current admin in one of our threads, saying he couldn't afford the time to figure out the upgrade, and couldn't afford the server - I'm just trying to help so that our group can keep going.   


[/list]
Newbie, getting older by the minute

Online Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,887
  • Gender: Male
  • The Artist Formerly Known as LexArma
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2017, 01:00:35 PM »
OK, then the obvious questions - sorry I'm not trying to be a pita. :)

When you fire up the install script on local, and see the "No such file or directory" error - have you already created a database in advance, and made sure the user account has rights to it? The script will set up contents of a database, but will not create a database if one doesn't exist.

Also, trying 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost - or the other way around - may work.

If these fail, there are similar issues all around stackoverflow, with plenty of different approaches to check.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/4219970/warning-mysql-connect-2002-no-such-file-or-directory-trying-to-connect-vi
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/23191625/mysql-connection-refused-and-mysql-no-such-file-or-directory
« Last Edit: December 23, 2017, 01:39:01 PM by Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen »
Finnish Native Language Support Specialist & Former (Lead) Support Specialist

Offline Just Susan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #18 on: December 23, 2017, 01:30:51 PM »
Please, the answer to this question is too simple!

Just either:

1.) Change servers then upgrade

or

2.) Upgrade then change servers

Your mistake is trying to do two things at the same time. I doubt it makes any practical difference which you do first.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 55,247
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: changing servers while upgrading
« Reply #19 on: December 23, 2017, 07:56:24 PM »
Except that you clearly did not read all of his posts as he has tried to do both of those, based on our suggestion to do the same thing....   I know that you were trying to get your post count up, but please read the entire thread before posting like this.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.