Advertisement:

Author Topic: GoDaddy Upgrade from 2GH to 4GH Linux Hosting Caused Database Connection Error  (Read 4895 times)

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
Howdy,

I am helping out this user to get his board back up and running.
I have removed from GD. Grabbed a archive for his version 1.1.21 (smf_1-1-21_install) reloaded the Sources/themes/setting files.

However I am receiving the DB error below:
Database Error: Unknown column 'addDeny' in 'field list'
File: /home/hisdomain/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php
Line: 739

How would I go about clearing that out?

Thanks
-Frank
G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Hmm, what column names are present in both the smf_board_permissions and smf_permissions tables?
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 48,950
can you check if load.php is from SMF 1.1 or SMF 2.0?

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Load.php is definitely 1.1 as that's what Frank grabbed, but whether that's the right version for the DB is another question entirely.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,596
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Just had a look at forum link, Subs-Auth.php appears to be missing.  Did you upload 1.1.21 package via ftp?  You must upload source files with cpanel file manager.  GoDaddy servers delete up to a dozen source files if uploaded by ftp.

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
Hmm, what column names are present in both the smf_board_permissions and smf_permissions tables?

Hi Arantor Both tables have the correct column add_deny

can you check if load.php is from SMF 1.1 or SMF 2.0?

Load.php is confirmed as SMF 1.1

Just had a look at forum link, Subs-Auth.php appears to be missing.  Did you upload 1.1.21 package via ftp?  You must upload source files with cpanel file manager.  GoDaddy servers delete up to a dozen source files if uploaded by ftp.

All files and DB were moved away from GD. And placed upon a more friendly set-up. I am force host the dns to my local. chances are you are using a cached dns. Which of course is a bummer :(
Hopefully the DNS resolves soon to new server.
G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Quote
Hi Arantor Both tables have the correct column add_deny

That's the column name as it is in 2.0; it was addDeny in 1.1.x - you have a 2.0 database, so the 1.1 files won't work correctly on it.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,596
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Not clear (to me, anyway), that database has been upgraded to 2.0.  OP originally didn't want to upgrade, and I'm not seeing that he did, but if it has been upgraded, should work with a 2.0.15 install.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Quote
Not clear (to me, anyway), that database has been upgraded to 2.0

You mean other than a column in the database that in 1.1 was called addDeny and gets renamed during the 2.0 install to add_deny - and the databaseu currently has add_deny in it...?
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
Quote
Hi Arantor Both tables have the correct column add_deny

That's the column name as it is in 2.0; it was addDeny in 1.1.x - you have a 2.0 database, so the 1.1 files won't work correctly on it.

Thanks Bro, I have not the slightest idea how this is a 2.0 DB as the OP seemed pretty adamant about not upgrading to the most current version while I read this post.  Perhaps I missed something during the discussion.

OP?

G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,596
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Try connecting it to a 2.0 install.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Well... the forum definitely was running 1.1.x earlier in the year and if I follow the link in the OP, that instance is definitely a 1.1 instance, though it says it can't connect to the DB at all...
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,596
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
I think database integrity is the big question here.  At least part of it has been upgraded to 2.0, it's possible to get a partial upgrade if upgrade.php fails partway through.  Will it work with 2.0 install?  Does it contain a set of backup tables?  Is there a good 1.1 backup prior to migration?  Has GoDaddy changed database server address?

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
if you run ping to the site the ping should go to=> Pinging zuksoffroad.net [107.182.169.50] with 32 bytes of data:
Otherwise you are hitting the old server. GD is no longer a issue as the site and db do not run in that environment any more.

I just replaced all the files with 2.0.15 install connection to DB looks ok as no errors. and was able to run repair_settings with success

however we do receive the below error
PHP Fatal error:  Function name must be a string in /home/zuksoffr/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php on line 142

We run many SMF installs so the PHP version is not a issue.

I have no idea what occured to the database before I pulled it out of GD. It does indeed have backup tables.
G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
The error you're getting is a 'needs PHP 5.4 installation' error.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
server is running
PHP Version 5.4.45

I have tried up to PHP 5.6 with same error
G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
Fixed the issue.

After uploading the 2.0 files. I had inadvertently missed the index.php. However the old index.php was still in root. So I just glanced over it. 
Just as a side note the backups that were in the DB were also for SMF 2.0. Strange Days LOL.

Thanks for your help :)
Tell B I says Hi!
G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 16,538
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
After uploading the 2.0 files. I had inadvertently missed the index.php. However the old index.php was still in root. So I just glanced over it. 
Just as a side note the backups that were in the DB were also for SMF 2.0. Strange Days LOL.
In all of this, that is honestly the most confusing point of the topic. How did it become 2.0? :o
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline tumbleweed

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,077
  • Gender: Male
  • Performance Based Hosting
    • G.C. Solutions
After uploading the 2.0 files. I had inadvertently missed the index.php. However the old index.php was still in root. So I just glanced over it. 
Just as a side note the backups that were in the DB were also for SMF 2.0. Strange Days LOL.
In all of this, that is honestly the most confusing point of the topic. How did it become 2.0? :o


 I have not the slightest idea. Its very confusing. We do know even if the upgrade was 100% successful. The forum is know active and view able to outside world.

However it appears that the attachments that were  uploaded prior to this upgrade are not working correctly as in they just show the link in the thread not the image. When one clicks the link the file downloads onto local machine. Images appear to be corrupted. PDF seem to be OK. images uploaded after are working as prescribed.

http://www.zuksoffroad.net/forum/index.php?topic=2375.0

Any ideas on the attachment issue?

Thanks
-Frank





 

G.C. SOLUTIONS - Hosting Quality Sites Since 2006. Experience Your Forums On A Whole New Level
Elastic Sites Stress Fast CPU/Ram Upgrades- More Info Here.
Reviews By SMF Forum Owners - Read Our Rev

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,596
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
If images load but are corrupt, likely cause is they were downloaded or uploaded via ftp using FileZilla with transfer type set to Auto.  It must be set to binary or files will be damaged.