Advertisement:

Author Topic: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15  (Read 511 times)

Offline bfeist

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Gender: Male
  • Admin of temac.ca/smf
    • http://www.linkedin.com/in/feist on LinkedIn
    • @benfeist on Twitter
    • Articles and Interests
White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« on: January 11, 2018, 03:10:37 PM »
Hi all,
I'm a happy user of SMF. I've been using it for many years to run a local hobby group forum and it has always been amazing.

I'm hoping someone can help with a problem that has just cropped up. one or two forum topics result in a white screen. All others work perfectly. I've searched this forum and done some googling and have turned on PHP error reporting and searched every PHP error log and I can not see an error being thrown anywhere. PHP version is 5.6.33. Viewing source on the blank screen shows no markup whatsoever. It's a real mystery. I'm a dev by trade, but I can't find a way in to problem solve this without being able to see an error anywhere. Can anyone recommend a way in?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 03:27:01 PM »
Link to a blank topic?

Offline bfeist

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Gender: Male
  • Admin of temac.ca/smf
    • http://www.linkedin.com/in/feist on LinkedIn
    • @benfeist on Twitter
    • Articles and Interests

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 48,968
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 03:34:38 PM »

Offline lurkalot

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,057
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2018, 03:37:35 PM »
Is there something strange going on with your url's

The link you posted, http://temac.ca/smf/index.php/topic,6439.0.html

This works, http://temac.ca/smf/index.php?topic=6439.0

Edit:  Sorry my mistake, it doesn't

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 48,968
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2018, 03:39:11 PM »
the second link does not load the topic, it loads the board index. so they are not the same.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2018, 03:49:37 PM »
That's odd, something's changing the urls.  This one works -

http://temac.ca/smf/index.php/topic,6297.0.html

Something in .htaccess?

Offline bfeist

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Gender: Male
  • Admin of temac.ca/smf
    • http://www.linkedin.com/in/feist on LinkedIn
    • @benfeist on Twitter
    • Articles and Interests
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2018, 04:32:22 PM »

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2018, 04:34:17 PM »
Why would that affect urls?

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 48,968
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2018, 04:36:02 PM »
the topic must have had attachments that were hitting the memory limit and causing a white screen.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2018, 04:36:51 PM »

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 48,968
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2018, 04:47:54 PM »
it does not affect the URL, it affects the page that the post with the attachment on it is on.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2018, 04:51:45 PM »
I understand that, but why are the urls changed to .html links?

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2018, 04:54:18 PM »
Because the 'search engine friendly URLs' option is turned on. It's a core feature since, well, pretty much forever when in the olden days search engines would assume everything with a ? in the URL was automatically duplicate content.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2018, 05:00:36 PM »
Hmm, I must have a different server setup, that option has no affect on my installs.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 68,361
    • Arantor on GitHub
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2018, 06:22:02 PM »
It also only works in Apache.
To assume is to hope that those who came before had the presence of mind and capacity to implement the dreams of those who would come after.

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain. It seems you have chosen which, and now I must do the same.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,619
  • There's someone in my head but it's not me.
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2018, 10:21:09 PM »
Support and Credits reports server running LiteSpeed, my account info shows Apache 2.4.9.



Offline bfeist

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Gender: Male
  • Admin of temac.ca/smf
    • http://www.linkedin.com/in/feist on LinkedIn
    • @benfeist on Twitter
    • Articles and Interests
Re: White screen on just a few posts 2.0.15
« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2018, 11:37:05 AM »
For the record, the images that caused this error were only about 600k, but they were very high resolution 5500x3000