News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

Issues with uploads, upgrading

Started by fatchocobomom, March 09, 2018, 10:44:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fatchocobomom

Hey guys. Please bare with me here...I'm new to SMF and my coding is very very limited. I have my own tiny little community for writers. My host had smf as an installed option so I decided to try it. It installed smf2.0.1 and I've tried to upgrade to 2.0.2. It just won't upgrade. My host showed me how to take down my mod_security temporarily and they had a look at my files and all the permissions were correct. I've run repair_settings...nothing seems to work.

At the same time, nothing will upload. Again, the host took a look and they said everything is right from their perspective so they aren't sure what's going on. Paths are correct, permissions correct. I'm not even sure where to look anymore to try and figure this out. Help?

GigaWatt

Have you tried to install the latest (2.0.15) version? It's available here. You can upload the zipped archive in your webspace (via it's file manager or FTP/SFTP, your choice, just make sure you set the transfer method to binary, not ASCII), use a small unzipping script (I think it's called unzipper, just copy the unzipper.php file in your webspace in the same place where you put the archive that contains SMF 2.0.15), link the domain to that directory, type in the doman /unzipper.php (example, mydomainname.com/unzipper.php), the script will auto detect the archive and unzip it in the same directory ;). Afterwards, the install process is pretty much the same :).

For the record, if your database was SMF 2.0.x compatible, I found that it's better to upload the database first, do the install afterwards an link the database during the install. You still might have to run repair_settings.php after the install (for the smileys directory and whatnot), but, in general, it should work out of the box :).