News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Trouble Installing Forum

Started by novic3, May 17, 2018, 09:45:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

novic3

Please forgive me. I understand their is a wiki but I am a computer noob lol

Which version of simple machines is the latest? 2.015?

Do I download zip or gz?

When I upload it to the server do I put it in public html?

Do I upload it as the whole zip and extract on the server or is their a sub-folder to upload?

Thanks

vbgamer45

2.0.15 is the latest stable.

Upload the contents of the zip file to public_html if you want your whole site to be your forum. otherwise make a forum folder and upload it there.
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

SMFHacks.com -  Paid Modifications for SMF

Mods:
EzPortal - Portal System for SMF
SMF Gallery Pro
SMF Store SMF Classifieds Ad Seller Pro

novic3

so do I upload the zip to public_html in my copanel then extract the zip?

In the zip I see the sub folder of smf_2-0-15_install  what do I do with that folder? thx

vbgamer45

Yeah if you can extract the contents via cpanel.
If not just upload all the files via ftp
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

Mods:
SMF Gallery Pro

novic3

sorry I was unclear :) Do I upload the zip into the public_html then extract the zip itself within public html and run the installer or do I open the zip on my desktop and ONLY upload the smf_2-0-15_install (6) in the public_html?

Thanks

vbgamer45

Upload the contents of  smf_2-0-15_install (6) from your desktop via ftp to the public_html folder

Mods:
SMF Gallery Pro

novic3

so not the folder itself but all of the subfolders within? then I put all those sub folders in the public_html area on the server?

thx

vbgamer45

Mods:
SMF Gallery Pro

novic3