News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

URL problems

Started by Noidea2, June 06, 2018, 06:33:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noidea2

So I know I'm a moron and I'm also new here. Please go gentle.
This is my first foray into hosting a forum and I'm going by feel. I'm not technical but I'd got it all set up and we were nearly ready to go. Then I did the moron thing.
I was in the admin area looking for settings to help with privacy and i came across the Forum URL text box. Now I have never been happy with the subdomain 1&1 let me create and I thought I wonder if I can change that here. So I took a screen shot of what it was naively thinking if it didn't work I could just change it back. But of course now I can't even log into the forum as all I get on with the original domain or my stupidly let's see what this button does domain is an oops this page doesn't exist message.
Am I done for? Do I need to delete the whole thing and start again? How can I rectify it when I can't even log in to get to the admin settings?
As I say I'm not tech minded so any database delving and technical talk is I'm afraid beyond me.
I hope someone can else but appreciate I may have to scan all my work over the last week and start again... :(

SychO

Hello,

What is your forum's actual URL ?
What did you change it to ?
Do you have FTP Access to your Forum ?
Checkout My Themes:
-

Potato  •  Ackerman  •  SunRise  •  NightBreeze

Kindred

Get and use repair_settings.php
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

GigaWatt

What is repair_settings.php?

And just in case you don't have an FTP client or haven't set up an FTP account on your host, you can upload the file via your host's file manager ;).