Advertisement:

Author Topic: Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15  (Read 3743 times)

Offline MisterVertigo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15
« on: August 16, 2018, 05:55:21 PM »
Hello all! I'm attempting to convert my current forum to SMF 2.0.15 using the converter.

I have it set up so both forums are up and running. The SMF install is a fresh install right out of the box. Both forums are running on the same host on the same database, using the same database account. I uploaded the convert.php and vbulletin4_to_smf.sql to the root of the SMF install.

When I run convert.php I enter in the install paths for both my installs and enter in the database user password. I get an error at the top and a red box that says this:

Code: [Select]
Warning: mysqli_error() expects exactly 1 parameter, 0 given in /homepages/16/d122120727/htdocs/CG/smf/convert.php on line 479
Sorry, the database connection information used in the specified installation of SMF cannot access the installation of vBulletin 4.0. This may either mean that the installation doesn't exist, or that the Database account used does not have permissions to access it.

The error that was received from the Database was:

I'm confident I'm using the correct password and that my paths are correct. Is there something I'm missing? Thank you in advance!

Offline vbgamer45

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 21,390
    • smfhacks on Facebook
    • VBGAMER45 on GitHub
    • @createaforum on Twitter
    • SMF For Free
Re: Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2018, 05:56:20 PM »
Try using SMF 2.0.13 instead if you can then run the convertor the convertor i think has some issues with latest SMF version
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

SMFHacks.com -  Paid Modifications for SMF

Mods:
EzPortal - Portal System for SMF
SMF Gallery Pro
SMF Store SMF Classifieds Ad Seller Pro

Offline GL700Wing

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 452
  • Gender: Female
Re: Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2018, 04:25:54 AM »
Try using SMF 2.0.13 instead if you can then run the convertor the convertor i think has some issues with latest SMF version
I had to use SMF 2.0.13 for the conversion and then upgrade to the latest SMF version - see https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=554897.0

Offline MisterVertigo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2018, 08:02:26 AM »
Thanks to you both. I'll give that a shot.

If the conversion goes successfully, can I upgrade directly from 2.0.13 to 2.0.15, or do I need to do 2.0.14 first?

Thanks again!

Online SychO

  • Lead Customizer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,401
  • Gender: Male
    • SychO9 on GitHub
    • SychO
Re: Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2018, 08:05:22 AM »
Thanks to you both. I'll give that a shot.

If the conversion goes successfully, can I upgrade directly from 2.0.13 to 2.0.15, or do I need to do 2.0.14 first?

Thanks again!

No you'll have to install the 2.0.14 patch first then 2.0.15 patch

Imazighen

Offline MisterVertigo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Converting from vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF 2.0.15
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2018, 10:14:29 AM »
Thank you for your responses! I also posted this question in the other conversion thread, but I thought maybe I should put it here since the problem is kind of specific to me.

I'm currently testing converting a vBulletin 4.2.1 to SMF. I've had to try a few times, but just about everything appears to be working (or appears to anyway) except for just a few small things.

First, I have an issue with the polls on my threads. For some reason, the first letter of each poll option is missing. So instead of three options of "Yes, No, Maybe" I get "es, o, aybe" The results appear to be OK, just the labels. It's REALLY strange.

Second, I have an issue with escaped characters like single and double quotes. Each of our members have an admin-set custom title that they cannot change. It's their first and last name, and if they have a nickname, it's in double-quotes in between. For example, John "Nickname" Doe. However, it appears as John \"Nickname\" Doe after the conversion. I can go into the Member account and manually enter the value and it shows up perfectly. The same thing happens in Poll choices, with words like "Can't" showing up as "Can\'t".

Third, we have a post template that we use on our current forums that creates an HTML table (like a form) in a post using BB code. When I look at a converted thread the post shows all of the BB code instead of actually converting it. If I edit the post without making any changes, and then save again, the post looks normal with the BB code being converted to HTML.

None of these are real deal-breakers, but it sure would be great if I had a way to convert these items properly. Has anyone else ran into any issues like these? Thank you all in advance!