Advertisement:

Author Topic: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!  (Read 780 times)

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« on: September 17, 2018, 11:02:35 PM »
How do you move a forum to a new domain?

I thought by looking at the admin section, it was as easy as copy the files, then change the urls in admin.

But this has effectively locked me out of admin, because the usernames are not available.

Is there any way of quickly fixing this? At the moment the forum isn't usable.

What I did was create a temporary forum on an existing domain. Then got a domain name. In trying to move to the new domain, I've cocked something up.

Help!

This call for help has been brought to you by someone out of his depth and the floaties burst.
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.


Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 11:28:23 PM »
Thanks. I've done the repair, but just getting a blank screen.

Would there be a control panel issue as well?

I notice there is now a domain.com directory, as well as the one I created when ai did the add domain. Is this the problem?
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 11:31:34 PM »
How did you add the domain?

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2018, 11:32:39 PM »
Control panel add domain icon. It asked for a directory name, and I used the domain without the .com
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2018, 11:34:27 PM »
Is it an addon domain or subdomain?

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2018, 11:36:04 PM »
I always get those confused.

Add on I think.

Its a new domain name I want to use as an independent site. Nothing to do with the site domain.
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2018, 11:41:45 PM »
Sounds like you did an addon domain.  For reasons unknown, cpanel may create two directories in account root, /newdomain and /newdomain.com.  Copy the forum files into /newdomain.com, upload repair_settings.php, and run newdomain.com/repair_settings.php.

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2018, 11:42:47 PM »
Ok, will do.
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2018, 11:46:05 PM »
Not finding the repair file in the .com directory.  :o

As in, uploaded the php to the .com dir, then ran it in the browser, getting a 404.
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2018, 11:48:34 PM »
Link?

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2018, 11:50:42 PM »
which are you wanting?
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2018, 11:54:32 PM »
Link to new forum.  Are dns settings for new domain correct?

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2018, 11:56:20 PM »
Where do I check those?  It is possible they are not right.
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2018, 11:57:52 PM »
You set them at domain registrar.  If they're registered with your forum host, look for domains in cpanel.

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2018, 12:01:56 AM »
You set them at domain registrar.  If they're registered with your forum host, look for domains in cpanel.

Nothing called domains there. Just addon and sub. Addon doesn't show the dns.

I used the defaults on the domain request.

And before running repair, I was getting the forum page, but couldnt log in.

After running repair, displays nothing.

I also checked, the domain is connected to where I thought it was, and not the .com


Edit: Domain is at writersanctum.com

Edit2: Chrome says error 500
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2018, 12:09:54 AM »
Are your domains registered with forum host?

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2018, 12:10:27 AM »
Are your domains registered with forum host?

yes.

Chrome says error 500
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,243
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2018, 12:21:47 AM »
DNS settings are correct, I can run repair_settings.php and view agreement.txt.  If you can pm ftp access (server/user/pw) I'll have a look.

Offline Yikesfactor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
Re: Newbie Cockup alert - How to move forum to new domain? HELP!
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2018, 12:28:10 AM »
PM sent.
Version 2.0.15

Used phpBB before, new to SMF.

I know enough to be dangerous.
Breaking things is my specialty.