Advertisement:

Author Topic: SunRise  (Read 47898 times)

Offline spiros

  • Language Moderator
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,796
  • Gender: Male
  • A different point of view
    • spiros.doikas on Facebook
    • doikas on LinkedIn
    • @greektranslator on Twitter
    • Greek Translation
Re: SunRise
« Reply #280 on: January 02, 2020, 07:06:23 AM »
I was testing after the 2.0.17 update and there seems no way to get the browser to remember the day/night selection. It seems to last only for the specific browser session; when browser is restarted one has to change it again. Is there any way to make it stick to the visitor/user selection (until the user changes it), I guess by cookie duration?

Offline SychO

  • On Hiatus
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,616
  • Gender: Male
    • SychO9 on GitHub
    • SychO
Re: SunRise
« Reply #281 on: January 02, 2020, 11:39:00 AM »
The cookie duration is 30 days by default, so even if you restart your browser the cookie should still be there before the 30 days, if you want to change the duration look for "setCookie" and edit "30" in index.template.php

also since the way the cookie is set by the theme has nothing to do with how the software sets its cookies, than 2.0.17 has no way of messing with it, of course something might be amiss with your installation but it works fine for me even with 2.0.17

Take the initiative

Offline spiros

  • Language Moderator
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,796
  • Gender: Male
  • A different point of view
    • spiros.doikas on Facebook
    • doikas on LinkedIn
    • @greektranslator on Twitter
    • Greek Translation
Re: SunRise
« Reply #282 on: January 02, 2020, 12:31:18 PM »
I did some more testing with 2 machines and 1 phone. Visiting 2 sites with the theme, closing the browser, opening it again. The results are a mixed bag. Some browsers fail in both sites I tested (your demo http://dzignmz.22web.org/forum/index.php?theme=8&i=1 and mine https://www.translatum.gr/forum/index.php), some work for both, some work in one, not in the other.

Menu issue
It seems that what causes much of the menu issues is the fact that in mobile dropdown menu the first item is not clickable but unfolds the subitems. So, if the main item has both a link and children elements (as for example "Customize" in this site), the link of the main item will not work in mobile mode. Not sure how this can be addressed as the first item can also be an important site link. Maybe have it added somehow as an extra subitem in mobile mode?

Stats on top

Checking your demo I can see a top row with stats. Is this an option? I could not find it.

11
MEMBERS
67
POSTS
32
TOPICS
NEWMEMBER
LATEST MEMBE
« Last Edit: January 02, 2020, 01:14:11 PM by spiros »

Offline SychO

  • On Hiatus
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,616
  • Gender: Male
    • SychO9 on GitHub
    • SychO
Re: SunRise
« Reply #283 on: January 03, 2020, 01:14:10 PM »
I did some more testing with 2 machines and 1 phone. Visiting 2 sites with the theme, closing the browser, opening it again. The results are a mixed bag. Some browsers fail in both sites I tested (your demo http://dzignmz.22web.org/forum/index.php?theme=8&i=1 and mine https://www.translatum.gr/forum/index.php), some work for both, some work in one, not in the other.

That is weird, the javascript code used for this might need updating then.

Menu issue
It seems that what causes much of the menu issues is the fact that in mobile dropdown menu the first item is not clickable but unfolds the subitems. So, if the main item has both a link and children elements (as for example "Customize" in this site), the link of the main item will not work in mobile mode. Not sure how this can be addressed as the first item can also be an important site link. Maybe have it added somehow as an extra subitem in mobile mode?

I guess if you do add the main item as a subitem that would solve the problem, the code is in index.template.php, I think the function responsible for the menu is called template_menu() you just need to re-write the <li> item inside the <ul> item which is inside of it.

Stats on top

Checking your demo I can see a top row with stats. Is this an option? I could not find it.

11
MEMBERS
67
POSTS
32
TOPICS
NEWMEMBER
LATEST MEMBE

Disable "Show statistics on board index:" in the theme settings
Take the initiative

Offline spiros

  • Language Moderator
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,796
  • Gender: Male
  • A different point of view
    • spiros.doikas on Facebook
    • doikas on LinkedIn
    • @greektranslator on Twitter
    • Greek Translation
Re: SunRise
« Reply #284 on: January 04, 2020, 07:04:14 AM »
Thanks for the reply.

Menu
I was not sure how exactly to implement that edit; I edited the menu in Subs.php instead by adding the main item as first subitem too.

Stats on Top
Yes, that worked fine. Is it possible to add total page views as a Stat there? I tried
Code: [Select]
$context['common_stats']['num_hits'] (https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=571157.msg4042492#msg4042492) but did not work.

Offline Rock Lee

  • Native Language Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,242
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning more every day!
    • BomberCode.Oficial on Facebook
    • RockLee-BC on GitHub
    • @Bomber_Code on Twitter
    • Bomber Code ~ La nueva era del conocimiento
Re: SunRise
« Reply #285 on: January 05, 2020, 11:01:37 AM »
I was just looking to use your theme and I realized you added new things for which I leave the translations with some improvements in the files ;)


Regards!
« Last Edit: January 05, 2020, 11:26:45 AM by Rock Lee »
¡Regresando como cual Fenix! ~ Bomber Code © 2020
Ayudas - Aportes - Tutoriales - Y mucho mas!!!

Offline SychO

  • On Hiatus
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,616
  • Gender: Male
    • SychO9 on GitHub
    • SychO
Re: SunRise
« Reply #286 on: January 05, 2020, 01:59:52 PM »
Stats on Top
Yes, that worked fine. Is it possible to add total page views as a Stat there? I tried
Code: [Select]
$context['common_stats']['num_hits'] (https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=571157.msg4042492#msg4042492) but did not work.

I cannot tell if that is possible or not at the moment.

I was just looking to use your theme and I realized you added new things for which I leave the translations with some improvements in the files ;)


Regards!


Thank you Rock Lee :) I'll include these whenever I get the chance
Take the initiative

Offline Tr0n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: SunRise
« Reply #287 on: January 07, 2020, 05:55:25 PM »
Hi SychO,

Quick question, Is it possible to include a custom background for whole forum, if so how?

Thanks

Offline Gandrel

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • The Outer Rim Garrison Forum
Re: SunRise
« Reply #288 on: January 12, 2020, 03:57:26 AM »
Has anyone upgraded to 2.0.17 yet and if so, have you had any issues with the SunRise theme? I'm reluctant to upgrade until I see 2.0.17 listed as officially compatible. Currently it's only showing 2.0.15.

Offline Gandrel

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • The Outer Rim Garrison Forum
Re: SunRise
« Reply #289 on: January 13, 2020, 04:26:56 AM »
I'd also like to propose that the following be changed in the index.template.php file in the next version of this theme:

Change:
Code: [Select]
<li><a class="firstlevel" href="', $scripturl, '?action=unread">' . fontawesome('fas fa-user-plus') . ' <span>', $txt['sr_unread_since_visit'], '</span></a></li>
To:
Code: [Select]
<li><a class="firstlevel" href="', $scripturl, '?action=unread">' . fontawesome('fas fa-inbox') . ' <span>', $txt['sr_unread_since_visit'], '</span></a></li>
Currently, it doesn't make sense to me that the icon for "UNREAD POSTS" is the same icon used for "REGISTER".