Advertisement:

Author Topic: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"  (Read 1411 times)

Offline resolutegamer9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« on: December 07, 2018, 01:00:52 PM »
SMF Version: 2.0.15
Domain name: resolutegamerz.com
Host: Awardspace
SSL: Cloudflare free

Current Status: Only installed a clear version of SMF/db. As previously did lot of experiments to fix this and that.

I followed the pinned tutorial (https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=555034.0) to my best with every possible method that i could find over the internet but due to some reason everytime i am uploading the .htaccess in the default root directory the website throws an error "This site can’t be reached". Yeah it does reloads the website with "hxxp:www.resolutegamerz.com [nonactive]" but site cant be reached.

I skipped that .htaccess and moved on to the next steps as because cloudflare forced https redirect could have fix it but unfortunately no sign of luck.

My requirement for https:// is not that mandatory but idk why whenever i am inputting anything whether it's in the search box or user id/password panel the website bar is turning red "not secure" (i have used SMF previously a year before but i didn't came across this error). I thought it might be the result of many addition of packages but it's not. Even in the clear version only with smf is showing the same issue.

I would be real glad if anyone can help me how to tackle this issue.

Thanks.

Offline CoreISP

  • Server Admin
  • Server Team
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 17,826
  • Gender: Male
  • CoreISP.net
    • liroyvh on LinkedIn
    • @liroyvh on Twitter
    • CoreISP Corporation :: WebHosting, Dedicated Servers, and more!
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2018, 06:37:42 AM »
That red bar is something your browser does. It means the connection isn't using https or not using it correctly.
Your site appears to load fine for me with SSL, but there is mixed content: http://resolutegamerz.com/Themes/default/images/upshrink2.png. Likely this is some image from a mod or something you put in the template? Point it to https:// and that should be resolved.

I'm not getting any insecure site notices such as red login boxes by the way, your HTTPS appears to be working fine.
Maybe you should clear your browser cache.
- CoreISP.net Corporation -
 WebHosting, Colocation, Domain Registration & Network Services
- DedicatedBox.us Servers -
 Low priced Servers in a high-quality Network, the place for all your (advanced) server needs.
 We specialize in hosting big boards. Contact us!

((U + C + I)x(10 − S)) / 20xAx1 / (1 − sin(F / 10))
President/CEO of Simple Machines - Server Manager
Please do not PM for support - anything else is usually OK.

Offline resolutegamer9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2018, 09:24:12 AM »
That red bar is something your browser does. It means the connection isn't using https or not using it correctly.
Your site appears to load fine for me with SSL, but there is mixed content: hxxp:resolutegamerz.com/Themes/default/images/upshrink2.png [nonactive]. Likely this is some image from a mod or something you put in the template? Point it to https:// and that should be resolved.

I'm not getting any insecure site notices such as red login boxes by the way, your HTTPS appears to be working fine.
Maybe you should clear your browser cache.

First of all thank you very much for your kind reply! Indeed you are correct, i just logged into my VPS and upon checking out the website with https:// i found it's working fine! To my wonder i have been stupid to not clear the cache.

I didn't update the website with any packages or mods or themes. I will update the mixed queries with https:// and try it out within few hours.

I will soon update the website with a different theme and will use some packages and will update this thread if i come across any issue.

Between after checking i found that the website it accesible from both https as well as http.
Just to fix it i used the .htaccess file in my root directory but after that the site is not reachable any further,

This is the code that i used:

Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} !=on
RewriteRule ^ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]
« Last Edit: December 08, 2018, 09:51:36 AM by resolutegamer9 »

Offline vbgamer45

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 21,298
    • smfhacks on Facebook
    • VBGAMER45 on GitHub
    • @createaforum on Twitter
    • SMF For Free
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2018, 10:13:04 AM »
With Cloudflare for rewrtiing http to https you have to do so from their control panel not .htacces.
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

SMFHacks.com -  Paid Modifications for SMF

Mods:
EzPortal - Portal System for SMF
SMF Gallery Pro
SMF Store SMF Classifieds Ad Seller Pro

Offline resolutegamer9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2018, 01:14:03 PM »
Quote
With Cloudflare for rewrtiing http to https you have to do so from their control panel not .htacces.

Thanks for pointing it out. I did that and now it's redirecting from http:// to https:// but not everytime. Most of the times it shows the server refused the connection. Error. This site can’t be reached.

In Cloudflare i turned the option to Force http to https.

My main issue is that whenever i am trying to input anything in the search box or somewhere else (even typing in login/register) it's turning the page from "Not secure" to "Not secure" in red as shown in the image below.

I do understand that there are some mixed queries that i found in the console page (also as someone pointed me previously in this thread) but can that be the reason for the site showing "Not secure" in red? or is it for something else?

Also can also guide me how do i fix the mixed queries. Where do i need to change the console errors? (turn them https:// from http://)

----

Offline drewactual

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 629
    • College Football Fan Site CFB51
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2018, 11:12:59 PM »
download and run repair_settings.php, and if you already have it- run it again. 

also, check all your template files to see if any images or pages are called using full URL and http, and if they are, you've gotta change them to https.

Offline resolutegamer9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2018, 05:07:56 AM »
I don't know which part i am missing but the website isn't working with https:

These are the steps i did:

I purchased a Positive SSL at the time of purchasing domain but as i want to go for free web-hosting i can't use the SSL(Awardspace does not allows that). So i decided to go for free SSL that cloudflare provides.

a) I ordered for the Universal SSL certificate and activated the Certificate (Flexible under crypto in Cloudflare) and it shows active.

b) Next i went to sslshopper.com to check out the validity.
Result: hxxp:www.sslshopper.com/ssl-checker.html#hostname=www.resolutegamerz.com [nonactive]
Status: Active

c) Http to https redirect: As i am using cloudflare i turned on the option that is provided in their panel.
"Always use HTTPS"
"Https rewrites"
Didn't use the .htaccess file as was mentioned previously by someone.

d) Installed SMF. Installed it with https:// instead of http://

So i dont need to use the repair_settings.php as i already used https:// in the beginning.

Now after all these i did the website is visible with https:// to some persons and not visible to some.
In my case i have cleared by browser history/cache/cookie. Used Ccleaner but still the problem remains. Upon checking from a VPS i see i can access the website properly. What could be the reason for the website not being visible to some users?
I have tried several times from my VPS and sometimes it shows working properly and sometimes the web loads to fails.(cleared cache/cookie for every single try)



Secondly, how to i fix the mixed contents from http to https? I mean how can i change those urls? In which files?


P.S: Added a screenshot about how the website looks at times. I read it that if the website is launched with http:// then it might look like that won't load but i am loading the website with https:// from my VPS . After i refresh it shows "This site can't be reached". I looked up in google via website status to check if the website is down or not but it shows " It's up and working".

« Last Edit: December 09, 2018, 05:52:35 AM by resolutegamer9 »

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,031
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2018, 06:36:52 AM »
Fixing the URLs is a matter of going to the theme settings page and changing the URLs to the themes in there.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline shawnb61

  • Support Specialist
  • Sophist Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,217
    • sbulen on GitHub
Re: Need help with http to https "The site can't be reached"
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2018, 11:34:59 AM »
The symptoms in your image are usually caused by paths not set to https.   

I think repair_settings is your next step.
Address the process rather than the outcome.  Then, the outcome becomes more likely.   - Fripp