Advertisement:

Author Topic: Changed domain name  (Read 647 times)

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Changed domain name
« on: December 14, 2018, 08:07:59 PM »
Hi all
I just changed a site domain name from .info to .org.uk. I have managed to get the site more or less working except for the forum. When I try to access it from the website it reverts back to the old .info address. I've changed the address's in some of the SMF files to the .org.uk but now it can't find the files. Could you give me a clue on which files have I need to change i.e. PHP files or whatever in the forum directory.
Thanks

Offline CoreISP

  • Server Admin
  • Server Team
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 17,880
  • Gender: Male
  • CoreISP.net
    • liroyvh on LinkedIn
    • @liroyvh on Twitter
    • CoreISP Corporation :: WebHosting, Dedicated Servers, and more!
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2018, 08:08:52 PM »
- CoreISP.net Corporation -
 WebHosting, Colocation, Domain Registration & Network Services
- DedicatedBox.us Servers -
 Low priced Servers in a high-quality Network, the place for all your (advanced) server needs.
 We specialize in hosting big boards. Contact us!

((U + C + I)x(10 − S)) / 20xAx1 / (1 − sin(F / 10))
President/CEO of Simple Machines - Server Manager
Please do not PM for support - anything else is usually OK.

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2018, 01:35:59 AM »
What is repair_settings.php? :)

Sorry link does not work for me, neither does direct download? Thanks

Offline GigaWatt

  • The Smiley Guy
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,050
  • Gender: Male
    • Macedonian electronics forum
"This is really a generic concept about human thinking - when faced with large tasks we're naturally inclined to try to break them down into a bunch of smaller tasks that together make up the whole."

"A 500 error loosely translates to the webserver saying, "WTF?"..."

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2018, 03:15:43 AM »
Hi Guys

Have managed to sort the fire location problem. Sorry about this but something is still wrong. The display is all wrong. I have attached a screen shot, any idea what I'm doing wrong? Sorry to bother.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,975
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2018, 05:47:18 AM »
then you did not fix all the URL's. did you use the repair_settings.php file?

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2018, 06:47:15 AM »
Hi

Didn't use the tool, it wouldn't download, got this message::

"Thank you for taking the time to download and use this product. If you have any firewall software installed (ie Norton Internet Security), you may have to turn it off. Should you have any problems with this download, please don't hesitate to look for a solution by looking for help.

Your file is being served by the Atlanta Download Site which is provided by Simple Machines."

Is it possible for you tell me which files to change? I've changed the path on what I can find but still not working correctly.

So sorry to be a pain I'm a complete novice at this!!

Thanks

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2018, 06:51:26 AM »
Further to my last, would it be easier to reinstall the whole thing, just keep the database as it is. Is this even possible.

Thanks

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,975
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2018, 08:17:40 AM »
try the attached file. also no you dont want to start over unless you have no content as everything would be lost.

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2018, 10:18:12 AM »
Hi IIIori

Thanks got the file. I really hate asking this but as I said I am completely dumb on this subject. How do I run it! I have loaded it to the same location as the other forum stuff where the other php files are, is this right? What do I do next?  ::)


Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2018, 10:27:00 AM »
Further to my last, managed to figure out how to get it going. Thanks. Now I have to sort out what to repair. Do you mind if I get back to you if I get stuck again?

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2018, 10:56:23 AM »
Hi Guys

Ran the repair tool and it seems to have worked, I can log in as webmaster and the site seems to be working, "Except" it still looks like the Screen Shot I posted earlier on. I'm stumped, never seen anything like this before, Any further ideas?

Thanks

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,317
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2018, 12:05:16 PM »
You still need to set the correct URLs and paths in repair_settings and then SAVE
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2018, 02:15:39 PM »
Kindred:  Yes, I've done that. The repair_settings seems to have done its job. As I say the forum works but it does not display correctly. I wonder if I download a different Theme, you think that might work,

Thanks

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,207
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2018, 02:24:05 PM »
I think you need to go and reset the theme settings as well, from inside the admin panel.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Scratchit

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2018, 02:36:12 PM »
Hi guys

Problem resolved!! I ran the repair_settings thing again and it seems to have worked this time around. Well pleased. Thanks for all the help.

Cheers

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,975
Re: Changed domain name
« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2018, 02:49:42 PM »
I think you need to go and reset the theme settings as well, from inside the admin panel.

it has been updated to include fixing the themes as well as everything else it used to do.