Advertisement:

Author Topic: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?  (Read 1893 times)

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« on: January 21, 2019, 06:50:37 AM »
I decided to give reCAPTCHA  try so I followed the relevant link and set it up for reCAPTCHA v3.

I entered the public and private keys into the relevant boxes in the SMF anit spam - recaptcha admin area.  And saved.

Someone attempted to register and got (the attached)

Suggestions?

My test site: http://www.gsx1400owners.org/test21forum




Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 07:42:04 AM »
Use reCAPTCHA v2
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline live627

  • Development Contributor
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,620
  • Gender: Male
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 05:23:35 PM »
Your keys must be for v2 of the api. I've only tried the checkbox type, since that's the one I used when I integrated it.
Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.
- Albert Einstein

Offline Antes

  • Evil Black Cat
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,957
  • Gender: Male
  • Black cat rulz!
    • XinYenFon on GitHub
    • merta on LinkedIn
    • @XinYenFon on Twitter
    • WoWSnips
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 05:43:18 PM »
Your keys must be for v2 of the api. I've only tried the checkbox type, since that's the one I used when I integrated it.

Maybe a small language change to state that SMF using v2.
Open for PAID works # Support Me

Current Project(s): [ WoWSnips ]
Past Project(s): [ ezPortal ] # [ Lunarfall ] # [ RDD (HTML5) ]

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2019, 07:09:18 PM »
Thanks

I've now changed it to recaptcha v2 keys so hopefully it works now.

Feel free to try for me :)
http://www.gsx1400owners.org/test21forum/
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2019, 08:46:06 PM »
Hmm seems to have got worse.  Went with a V2 setup and now get this...

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.

Offline Dzonny

  • Localizer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,010
  • Gender: Male
  • No sleep...
    • dzontra.nikola on Facebook
    • Dzonny on GitHub
    • dzontranikola on LinkedIn
    • @opusteniforum on Twitter
    • Samo opusteno
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2019, 07:11:46 AM »
Hmm seems to have got worse.  Went with a V2 setup and now get this...


I can see captcha image and checkbox there, but I can also see the input field below which I'm not sure what's there for.

Offline Shambles

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,210
  • Gender: Male
    • i30 Owners Club
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2019, 07:47:09 AM »
Quote from: Dzonny
I can see captcha image and checkbox there, but I can also see the input field below which I'm not sure what's there for.

I believe that's being discussed in the reCaptcha mod support thread, to do with setting questions in conjunction with reCaptcha.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,617
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2019, 07:51:48 AM »
SMF 2.1 has recaptcha by default, so it is not using the mod.

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2019, 05:39:40 PM »
Yes correct 2.1 has it by default.

Dzonny - thanks. Someone else had the same result - see attachment - I presume that's what you are seeing too ?

I'm wondering if that's where the verification question is supposed to appear.

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.

Offline live627

  • Development Contributor
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,620
  • Gender: Male
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2019, 05:55:48 PM »
Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.
- Albert Einstein

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,508
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2019, 05:57:26 PM »
Yes correct 2.1 has it by default.

Dzonny - thanks. Someone else had the same result - see attachment - I presume that's what you are seeing too ?

I'm wondering if that's where the verification question is supposed to appear.

I also had this very same thing. 

Yes that's where the verification question is when it's working.  On my test site the that text entry box was showing without the question, even though the number of verification to show was set to 0.  The only way to get rid of that rogue entry box was to delete the question(s) and save.

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,508
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2019, 06:20:02 PM »
Just managed to get it to do it again.  Screenshot, one showing the extra entry box, but no question, and one showing the setting.

Again the only way to get rid of that entry box was to remove the question and answer. And save.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2019, 06:27:29 PM »
Check it isn’t the intentional hidden input showing.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline live627

  • Development Contributor
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,620
  • Gender: Male
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2019, 06:41:04 PM »
I looked at the site of landyvlad.  The hidden input works as expected. The element in question is

Code: [Select]
<input type="text" name="register_vv[q][]" size="30" value="" tabindex="8" required="">
Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.
- Albert Einstein

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2019, 07:04:55 PM »
live627 - I don't understand that at all, but I assume it wasn't directed at me anyway, :) but to others who may be able to help resolve the issue.

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.

Offline live627

  • Development Contributor
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,620
  • Gender: Male
    • live627 on Facebook
    • live627 on GitHub
    • live627 on LinkedIn
    • @live627 on Twitter
    • livemods
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2019, 09:04:48 PM »
That's right.


As I posted in reply #10, a fix is in the worsts,
Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.
- Albert Einstein

Offline Sesquipedalian

  • The Mad Doctor
  • On Hiatus
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 979
  • Gender: Male
  • It works! ... in theory.
    • Sesquipedalian on GitHub
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2019, 03:07:53 PM »
The fix that live627 linked to above has been merged.
I promise you nothing.

Sesqu... Sesqui... what?
Sesquipedalian, the best word in the English language.

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2019, 07:22:50 PM »
when was it merged.

About 12 hours ago I updated my test forum with latest nightly from  https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=558451.20

The behaviour continues as before - badly :D - so apparently hasn't been sorted yet.

Be good when it is, because it's a pretty major issue if there are problems with members trying to register.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.

Offline landyvlad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Gender: Male
    • Michael Reed on Facebook
    • GSX1400 Owners ORG
Re: How to get ReCAPTCHA to work in SMF 2.1 ?
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2019, 10:54:10 PM »
further to the above post - I'm told that if a registering user waits long enough they get this.

The theory that has been proposed is that it might have something to do with https... ?

So does the actual forum need to be HTTPS before recaptcha will work?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with questions on astrophysics or theology.  You will get better and faster responses by asking homeless people in the street. Thank you.

To paraphrase Kindred: "There are no technical solutions to social problems."

No hack nor blackhats, just persistent asshats.