Advertisement:

Author Topic: Repair_Settings Tool Error  (Read 1199 times)

Offline Novice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Repair_Settings Tool Error
« on: February 25, 2019, 06:31:53 PM »
I tried to use the repair settings tool and everything was fine until I clicked on save settings. Once I did, went to the screenshot shown below and changed nothing. Using 2.0.15 - GoDaddy Servers - PHP 5.6

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 70,992
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2019, 06:33:47 PM »
I just went to the URL in that screenshot and it seems to work for me?
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Novice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2019, 06:43:59 PM »
I just tried the repair settings tool again and got the same error when trying to save the changes.

The site is up and referencing info from the live site and itself.

I will just go in manually change things.

Thanks

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 70,992
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2019, 07:01:03 PM »
What are you trying to change exactly? The site seems to be up with no need to change anything...
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline GigaWatt

  • The Smiley Guy
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,974
  • Gender: Male
    • Macedonian electronics forum
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2019, 08:52:16 PM »
Reachable for me too.

"This is really a generic concept about human thinking - when faced with large tasks we're naturally inclined to try to break them down into a bunch of smaller tasks that together make up the whole."

"A 500 error loosely translates to the webserver saying, "WTF?"..."

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 8,912
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2019, 09:01:14 PM »
GoDaddy. :P

Offline Novice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2019, 06:51:02 AM »
Thanks Sir Osis!

I should have figured as much.

Offline Novice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2019, 07:00:54 AM »
My entire purpose was to attempt an upgrade with a live site with live data but, only on a clone so I would not do any damage if things went wrong. Evidently, this issue is also keeping me from doing the upgrade to 2.1.

I would like any insight on what I need to tell Godaddy to get this corrected.

My first round call at 147 minutes with tech told me that it could possibly be because I didn't use their installer, thus pairing the software to the server. I created a new one with their installer and did all the necessary tweaks to make it identical to our live site. Still no go.

My second round at 97 minutes earned me the old "it's the software publishers issue" song and dance.

For those who don't know me, I'm not a coder or a database whiz. I'm just a end user tasked to attempt to keep things up and going.

Thank you in advance to anyone who has any ideas.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2019, 08:05:54 AM by Novice »

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,126
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2019, 08:21:08 AM »
no. NEVER use their autoinstaller. period. just don't do it.



to duplicate your site....

Set up a new database
export the existing database from the old database
import the existing database to the new database.
Set up a new directory or subdomain for your test forum
copy the files to the new directory

upload and run repair_settings.php in the NEW location.
change the database info to match the new database info
change the core URLs and paths to match the NEW location
SAVE
keep running or re-run repair_settings.php
confirm that the database and core info was changed
now change the other URLs and paths (like themes and avatars)
SAVE
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 8,912
Re: Repair_Settings Tool Error
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2019, 11:02:16 AM »
If GoDaddy support starts messing with your forum, you'll be doomed.  They may trash your database, and you'll lose all your content if you don't have a good local backup.  Recently spent a week or two trying to recover a 14 year old GoDaddy forum with a 2 gb database that GD support had "fixed", was only able to restore up to 4 years ago, the rest was lost.  If you need assistance, pm cpanel access and I'll have a look tonight.  But do not let GD touch your forum.


BTW, this should be in 2.0 support.