MySQL Database Connection error

Started by DarkLord7854, November 15, 2005, 03:31:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DarkLord7854

Hi,
I didn't know where to post this in so I thought might as well put it here. My host moved me to another server, so the IP changed. I backed up everysingle files and databse and everything on my server and trasnferred everything back the exact same way it was. All folders and databses have been restored to EXACTLY how they were. However, now the SMF boards give me an error about not being able to connect to the database. I checked the database and it's there. I asked a few of my friends and they told me I should look in Index or Settings.php and make sure the right databse settings are there. I know what the host and username are but I have no clue what the password is. My server control panel has a page where it tells me the PHP coding needed to connect to the database and for password it's listed <PASSWORD HERE>
I'm not experienced at all in MySQL, so I would really appreaciate some help  ;)

Oldiesmann

If you don't know what the password is for that MySQL user account, delete it and re-create it with the password that's listed in Settings.php

Based on your description of the control panel, it sounds like you've got cPanel (a very popular system among webhosts...), so here's what you need to do:

Login to cPanel and click on "MySQL Databases"
First, remove that member account from the database by clicking "Delete" next to the username under the section that says "Users in yourdatabase" (yourdatabase = the name of your database).
Then, delete the actual user account by clicking on "Delete" next to the username in the "Users" section

Finally, re-create that account and add it to the database again:
Enter the username and password in the appropriate boxes (the username should NOT have the prefix on it as that's added automatically by cpanel) and click on "Add User"