Advertisement:

Author Topic: change username error  (Read 204 times)

Offline dominioboys

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
change username error
« on: September 20, 2019, 03:24:04 PM »
since I was wrong in writing my username from my profile I changed the real name and username of the forum by putting in uppercase characters ... but now it doesn't let me log into the forum, but in phpmyadmin there is

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,259
Re: change username error
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2019, 03:28:39 PM »
are you talking about your admin account? if so https://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/I_accidentally_lost_my_admin_account!_What_can_I_do should help you.

Offline Shambles

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,167
  • Gender: Male
    • i30 Owners Club
Re: change username error
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2019, 03:31:18 PM »
You should be able to login using your registered email address too, if the above isn't the case.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,259
Re: change username error
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2019, 03:35:19 PM »
if they changed the username, they would need to reset their password before they can log in as the password hash in the database is based on the username.

Offline dominioboys

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: change username error
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2019, 03:38:58 PM »
i am the admin but as id i have the 2

Offline dominioboys

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: change username error
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2019, 03:41:15 PM »
if they changed the username, they would need to reset their password before they can log in as the password hash in the database is based on the username.
how to do?

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,259
Re: change username error
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2019, 03:46:42 PM »
check the link I provided above.

Offline dominioboys

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: change username error
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2019, 03:49:37 PM »

I found the password field but has letters and numbers like I change it?

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,498
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: change username error
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2019, 03:17:44 AM »
Stop making changes in the database. That's why you are having problems

Use the standard interface
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.