Advertisement:

Author Topic: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8  (Read 1330 times)

Offline GigaWatt

  • The Smiley Guy
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,187
  • Gender: Male
    • Macedonian electronics forum
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2019, 10:48:49 AM »
And what I should transfer to avoid the blank screen in the forum page for guests? Or perhaps I should transfer the entire clear package from downloads section? What do you recomend me?

If you still have access to the files from the old host, download everything (including attachments) in binary mode, delete everything on the new host and upload to the new host in binary mode as well. Afterwards, run repair_settings.php to fix the new paths, URLs, etc.

That's the only way you can be absolutely sure that this problem has nothing to do with "corrupt" line endings in the script's files.

If you want check it, the domain is already transfered to the new server and you can see the fail in forofosdelrunning.com/index.php?action=forum page by yourself.

Yep, WSOD on my end as well.

Do what I previously suggested, see if that fixes the problem ;).
"This is really a generic concept about human thinking - when faced with large tasks we're naturally inclined to try to break them down into a bunch of smaller tasks that together make up the whole."

"A 500 error loosely translates to the webserver saying, "WTF?"..."

Offline guiller_mote

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • ffdr
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #21 on: November 07, 2019, 02:28:11 PM »
I will do what you say GigaWatt step by step and the same issue :(. The only thing that I cannot do is run reppair_settings.php as it doesn't work with my php release but I have change the urls manually to the settings.php file.

If I would know the file/s related to the call to /index.php?action=forum I would be able focus on this and don't in the entire web but I don't know it.
Another thing that I cannot understand is what can be the reason why all users registered can see that page and ghest don't  >:( :-\, it has no sense for me.


Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #22 on: November 07, 2019, 02:30:58 PM »
At a minimum, index.php, plus the following Sources files: BoardIndex, Load, Subs, QueryString, Subs-Db-mysql, plus whatever files your portal loads.

What concerns me more is that the errors aren’t getting into any error log.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,615
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #23 on: November 07, 2019, 02:31:49 PM »
why do you say that repair_settings.php does not work with your php version? I am not aware of any issues with it not working with any modern php version.

Offline guiller_mote

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • ffdr
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2019, 04:33:34 AM »
why do you say that repair_settings.php does not work with your php version? I am not aware of any issues with it not working with any modern php version.

This function was DEPRECATED in PHP 5.3.0, and REMOVED as of PHP 7.0.0. You are running something above PHP 7?

As for the original issue, a white screen after changing a language would imply an issue in the language files - what language pack are you using?


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function set_magic_quotes_runtime() in /srv/disk15/3192114/www/ffdr.atwebpages.com/repair_settings.php:170 Stack trace: #0 /srv/disk15/3192114/www/ffdr.atwebpages.com/repair_settings.php(25): initialize_inputs() #1 {main} thrown in repair_settings.php on line 170

Offline guiller_mote

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • ffdr
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #25 on: November 09, 2019, 04:40:42 AM »
After install the forum in test again from the beginning and checking step by step, I have found the issue  :)
All worked fine until I installed mod Login Form Fix.
Going to production one and unintalling this mod all works fine now.

The problem is probably I will have problems with the logon, I hope this helps for somebody in the same situation.

However, I still don't understand why this mod was working in my old VPS ?¿?¿   :(

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,625
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #26 on: November 09, 2019, 05:41:39 AM »
Well, if you have problems with login,  then you can manually apply the correct code as detailed in the faq...

Or wait for 2.0.16
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline guiller_mote

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • ffdr
Re: White screen when I change the languaje to UTF8
« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2019, 09:03:18 AM »
Many thanks Kindred, I will do that.