Advertisement:

Author Topic: Problem with updating  (Read 553 times)

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Problem with updating
« on: November 17, 2019, 07:44:37 AM »
Yesterday I installed SMF to my website and I tried to change background of the forum ( I use Boru theme ) but it didn't work, it was again showing default background, Then i gone to website throught my phone and i saw that background is there, on my computer it is not but on mobile phone or any other device that is not previously gone on the site it is. Also, i put a banner on site ( at the bottom ) and i gone to site via Google Chrome and it wasn't there but i opened Windows Edge and gone to site and banner was there. I dont now what is happening, cache is not updating or? Somebody can help me please? Thanks! ( Sorry for my bad english )

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2019, 07:53:50 AM »
Link to site?
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2019, 07:55:08 AM »
Link to site?
www.extreme-rpg.com [nofollow]
You will see this banner because this is your first time on site

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2019, 08:05:55 AM »
So first up, there is a cache in the browser for the CSS on the page, and Chrome in particular is terrible about not clearing that out when it should.

Regarding your banner, I don't know where you uploaded it to, but both Themes/default/images/eglogo.png and Themes/Boru/images/eglogo.png don't exist. The footer banner works as it was uploaded somewhere else.

Your site is trying to use Font Awesome (at least, the theme is) but it can't be loaded because you seem to have some issue with CORS configuration (you should ask your webhost about this).

Not sure what other issues there are vs what I'm seeing but those two are the big ones.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2019, 08:28:56 AM »
There was also a problem, my logo didn't work ( actually just on Chrome but i didn't knew that ) and then i opened css file in admin menu and in preview i actually saw my logo and my banner, i uploaded again these files. Is there any fix for this for chrome or not, thanks!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2019, 08:31:45 AM »
Now you've put the file in, the banner works as expected. To fix the fonts that should be making symbols/icons in your site, you probably need to talk to your host.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2019, 08:52:44 AM »
But what about other changes, like this:
I uploaded this banner like you see and i see it on windows edge:



But on google chrome not:



Is there any way to fix it, is there any fix to update css cache on chrome instantly like edge?

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2019, 09:51:01 AM »
I'm seeing two of those banners at the bottom in Chrome, did you add it twice?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2019, 10:03:02 AM by lurkalot »

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2019, 10:29:06 AM »
I'm seeing two of those banners at the bottom in Chrome, did you add it twice?
Yes, I was testing something but i'm asking for updating cache for css in google chrome, on my PC, banners wont load on google chrome

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2019, 10:53:54 AM »
They both load fine for me using Google Chrome. (You have two copies of the banner code. Previously you only had one, and it loaded successfully for me.)

Best chance of getting it to deal with cache: go into the browser inspector, go to the network tab, tick 'disable cache' and then press Ctrl-F5.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline lurkalot

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,509
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • Tinyportal on GitHub
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • Guitarist Guild
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2019, 11:01:16 AM »
I'm seeing two of those banners at the bottom in Chrome, did you add it twice?

I'm seeing two of those banners at the bottom in Chrome, did you add it twice?
Yes, I was testing something but i'm asking for updating cache for css in google chrome, on my PC, banners wont load on google chrome

I was viewing them on Google Chrome.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2019, 01:32:26 PM »
They both load fine for me using Google Chrome. (You have two copies of the banner code. Previously you only had one, and it loaded successfully for me.)

Best chance of getting it to deal with cache: go into the browser inspector, go to the network tab, tick 'disable cache' and then press Ctrl-F5.
I don't know but i think only i have this problem, i told my firend to go on this website and refresh it every time i made a change, he sees that changes, i don't, i actually dont see those banners on google chrome, i dont think there is a fix but thanks guys, you reply really fast :D, if somebody has fix, please reply ;)

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2019, 01:33:20 PM »
Well, you've now had three different people tell you that it works - maybe the problem is with your computer, not with your site.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2019, 01:39:48 PM »
Well, you've now had three different people tell you that it works - maybe the problem is with your computer, not with your site.
I'll try to get used to the new one browser :D, i don't know what is happening to chrome, there is no way that Microsoft Edge is better than it :D
Thank you guys especially Arantor for veeeery fast reply, thank you bro ;)

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2019, 03:56:22 PM »
Well, here i am again :D
There was no problem with Chrome, when i'm not logged in ( in my admin profile ) i can see banners but when i'm logged in i can't.
Is there any fix for this :D

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2019, 04:58:37 PM »
Well, how did you put the banners in?
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #16 on: November 18, 2019, 02:45:55 PM »
Well, how did you put the banners in?
I dont know hahahh, i just see banners when im not logged in but dont see when im logged in my admin acc

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,982
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2019, 02:58:02 PM »
If you don't know how you did it, we can't possibly help you.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2019, 10:25:45 AM »
If you don't know how you did it, we can't possibly help you.
I use mod package, "Ad Management"

Offline daddyBS

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Problem with updating
« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2019, 11:33:50 AM »
Problem fixed, thanks, just stupid thing in settings ;)