Advertisement:

Author Topic: Forum won't load  (Read 397 times)

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Forum won't load
« on: December 06, 2019, 06:50:48 PM »
I get a 500 error when I try to access my forum

and this in error_log

Code: [Select]
[06-Dec-2019 23:43:30 UTC] PHP Fatal error:  Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in /<removed>/Sources/Subs-Db-mysql.php:58
Stack trace:
#0 <removed>/Sources/Load.php(2889): smf_db_initiate(<removed db login info>)
#1 <removed>/index.php(69): loadDatabase()
#2 {main}
  thrown in <removed>/Sources/Subs-Db-mysql.php on line 58

http://creativeburrow.jades-world.com/

The DB info is correct. It was fine last year lol.
Please assist :D
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline Shambles

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,293
  • Gender: Male
    • i30 Owners Club
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2019, 06:56:33 PM »
What version of PHP are you now on?

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2019, 07:00:16 PM »
7 I think :)

I'd really like to avoid losing custom code if possible. Doing a large update will destroy a lot of functionality on the site and I was hoping to keep it up a little longer for people to get their stuff down from it.
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2019, 07:11:19 PM »
It's 7.1
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline Shambles

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,293
  • Gender: Male
    • i30 Owners Club
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2019, 07:18:43 PM »
SMF version?

Offline Herman's Mixen

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 7,269
    • HermanMixen on Facebook
    • @Hermans_Mixen on Twitter
    • Herman's Mixen
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2019, 07:20:34 PM »
if your on SMF 2.0.15 and in your webhosting control panel you set your php version back to 7.0 does that help, or ask your host if they can downgrade php just for your site :P
Met vriendelijke groet, The Burglar!

 House Mixes | Mixcloud | Any Intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent.
It takes a touch of genius - and a lot of courage - to move in the opposite direction. - Albert Einstein

Former Godfather of our dutch community ;)

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2019, 08:02:44 PM »
SMF version?

Honestly I have no idea! ha ha ha

My settings file says 2.0 Beta 4.  :-X :-[ O:)
My index file says 2.0.13....which file should I be looking at? ha ha

if your on SMF 2.0.15 and in your webhosting control panel you set your php version back to 7.0 does that help, or ask your host if they can downgrade php just for your site :P

I could do this except it's a subdomain not an addondomain so I can't actually do it.
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,635
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2019, 08:25:16 PM »
What else are you running?  If you haven't made any major changes in last year or so, everything should work in php 7.0, probably even in 5.6.

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2019, 09:58:56 PM »
There is something that requires php 7 at the least, I can't for the life of me remember what it is. It could be Wordpress or my other SMF forum :/.

The problem is I have extensive edits to show story and series information so I can't just overwrite it and it's such a monster I'd rather die than manually change it ha ha. This is why it died in the first place it was too big to maintain and then Facebook and Reddit and other social networks became preferred for stories and stuff.
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,635
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2019, 10:26:09 PM »
Don't know why you're getting that error.  $db_type in Settings.php should be 'mysql'.  Subs-Db-mysql.php contains three calls to mysql_connect(), it doesn't appear anywhere else in core code.  Have you checked the file?

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,986
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2019, 04:55:47 AM »
does your host give you the ability to change php version to something lower then 7? if so do that and then upgrade to 2.0.15, then you can run php 7.1.

otherwise it is a bit difficult to get you upgraded to 2.0.15 manually.

Offline davejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 356
    • Dave's Hobby Workshop
Re: Forum won't load
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2019, 03:16:01 AM »
does your host give you the ability to change php version to something lower then 7? if so do that and then upgrade to 2.0.15, then you can run php 7.1.

If you can't revert the php through your host then try to either rename the current .htaccess file (if you can see it) and upload the one I have attached or just upload the one I've attached to the public/html folder and see if that helps as a temp measure.
If you want 'Quiz' questions Click here
Quiz Test Site Link