News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

2.0.17 Email failure with Dreamhost and Couldn't get mail server response codes

Started by Dena, February 01, 2020, 12:04:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dena

This topic may belong in Bug Reports but as I am unsure, I am starting here.
I am new to PHP and Simple machines but I have had 4 years as a moderator and 40 years assembler experience. I have reached the limit of what I can figure out and without learning a lot more, I am at a dead end.

The host server is Dreamhost. I know your high opinion of it but the deed was done before I had a say in the matter. The person who did the install is out of touch so am somewhat limited on what I can report. The system logs for the mail service require a higher security level than I have.

Email isn't being sent and as far as I can tell, the configuration is what Dreamhost requires. The Simple Machines error log is returning "Couldn't get mail server response codes". The funny part is the email was being sent at one point and stopped working. I suspect it was about the time the secure connection certificate was installed but I can't swear to it as a good deal more was going on at the time. 

In searching this web site, I have found this topic (modification follows). The  suggested fix was to comment the second line and replace it with the third line.

Code: (Replace With) [Select]
      // EHLO could be understood to mean encrypted hello...
//      if (server_parse('EHLO ' . $modSettings['smtp_host'], $socket, null) == '250')
      if (server_parse('EHLO ' . 'localhost', $socket, null) == '250')