Advertisement:

Author Topic: Infected with Malware  (Read 2528 times)

Offline Paffman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Me & Randy Mamola - Donington 2007
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2020, 10:58:53 AM »
Just import the database backup into the new (empty) database you created for the new install, then run repair_settings.  The database name will be that of the new database, the table prefix will be that of the old database (iirc).  You fix all that with repair_settings.


Say I have DB named 123_abc and the new created DB is called 456_def. I upload my saved DB 123_acb, in repair_settings do I need to rename my saved DB to the new DB 456_def?

Sorry confused now.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,302
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #21 on: May 23, 2020, 08:46:06 PM »
No, just change the prefix identified in settings.php using repair_settings.php
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Paffman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Me & Randy Mamola - Donington 2007
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2020, 11:05:54 AM »
No, just change the prefix identified in settings.php using repair_settings.php

Sorry, change the DB prefix in settings.php to the one ID'd in repair_settings.php?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,302
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2020, 11:31:39 AM »
No. Whatever the imported database prefix is.
Use repair_settings.phpto set  the prefix to that. This will update settings.php
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Paffman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Me & Randy Mamola - Donington 2007
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2020, 11:43:14 AM »
Do I just upload a .sql DB or a complete. Either way in repair_settings I see the new BD prefix, where do I fine the restored DB prefix?

Offline Doug Heffernan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 568
    • An Unofficial King of Queens Forum
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2020, 11:46:27 AM »
Do I just upload a .sql DB or a complete. Either way in repair_settings I see the new BD prefix, where do I fine the restored DB prefix?


You must upload the backup file as whole/complete in whatever format you have it. Some times hosts set a max file size limit on their phpmyadmin. If your compressed backup file is above that limit, you will get a time out message. In that case it is best to restore the backup from the restore option in cpanel or failed that, use another tool like mysqldumper.

P.s. Another thing I would strongly advice you to do after you get your forum up and running, is to upgrade it to the latest stable 2.0.17 release.

Offline Paffman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Me & Randy Mamola - Donington 2007
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2020, 11:49:06 AM »
The new SMF is 2.0.17

I can upload a saved DB, but I don't know what the prefix is for it to change in the repair_settings.

The upload DB has it got to be a .sql or .gz file?

Offline Doug Heffernan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 568
    • An Unofficial King of Queens Forum
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2020, 11:52:55 AM »
The new SMF is 2.0.17

I can upload a saved DB, but I don't know what the prefix is for it to change in the repair_settings.

Ah ok. I said that because you are posting in the SMF 1.1.x Support section. Maybe the moderators can move it to the 2.0 support section.

Is the backup from 2.0x series as well btw as it is not very clear to me?

The prefix is the db prefix. When you run the repair_settings.php file, make sure to enter all the db info correctly and follow the suggestions for paths and urls to make sure that they are set up correctly.

Offline Paffman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Me & Randy Mamola - Donington 2007
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2020, 11:59:25 AM »
Sorry my bad, should have been in the 2.0.x board, Admin?

Yeah I know that I have to change the DB prefix in repair_settings, but how do I know what prefix to change it to?

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,237
  • Hoarding Budweiser in NY
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2020, 12:31:34 PM »
Look in the database.  It will import with the table prefix from the original database, but keep the name of the new db.  Or look in Settings.php if you have a files backup of the original forum.


Offline Deaks

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,482
  • Gender: Male
    • SMFReview on Facebook
    • pouvik on GitHub
    • @@smfreview on Twitter
    • SMFReview
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #30 on: June 09, 2020, 03:59:43 PM »
Paffman, did you get this sorted?  as you have been online often and not updated us then I will assume this is ssorted as such I have marked this as solved if you need further help Sir Osis will be happy to help further he just doesnt know it yet

Offline Paffman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Me & Randy Mamola - Donington 2007
Re: Infected with Malware
« Reply #31 on: June 27, 2020, 09:17:56 PM »
Sorry Deaks, forgive me.

Yes it is solved.